Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,429 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

A Meme (read: all the blog post I can manage at the moment)

Posted by Miss Knotty on July 21, 2011

Before I begin, I should mention that I’m trucking away on socks, still.  However, they are June’s socks.  And they are BEHIND.  :(  I’m just at the leg on sock 1, however I’m pretty much writing the pattern as I go here, so maybe I can get grace points because I’m also designing….?  Dare I hope?  In any case, I’ll dash off some on-the-plan socks once I finish these so I can get a little caught up, maybe. Maybe.

Still, they do progress, despite my slowness:
IMAG0009

They’re Texas Rangers Socks.  Yarn is Loopy Ewe Solid Series, in Strawberry, Blue, and White. I’m doing 1-row stripes using the helical stripes method on the foot, I inserted a strand for the afterthought heel, and I’m about to start the stranded colorwork on the leg.  I had to rework the pattern for: different stitch count, direction of knitting (I’m knitting toe-up instead of cuff-down), size (to fit on a woman’s size 11 foot, instead of a woman’s 6.5.  As the lovely and talented Carissa says, NO SMALL FEET!) Oh, and I have to finish the cuff and knit the second one.  But hey, what are challenges for, right?

Anyway, yes, these are June’s, but they’re coming along and I have a pair of little slipper sock thingies that will go quickly to help me catch up for July, once I finish these.  Then I have a smaller version (woman’s 6.5, miracle of miracles) to knit for August.  Then I’ll be back on the regular sock trail for the rest of the year.  … Or will I?   (Dunh dunh DUNH!!!!!)

Oh! A meme:

ABC’s of me.

I saw this on Knitiot who saw it on Crafty Addiction, and thus the meme continues.

So here we go…26 things ostensibly about me.  Although some of them are really more about my sense of humor, than about me.  Because I don’t like to give out all of my most personal info in the Internet.

A. Age: I haven’t yet had my birthday this year.

B. Bed: Full, European pillow-top back supporter. My idea of camping is anything less than 3 stars.

C. Chore You Dislike: Vacuuming.  I loathe it.  Good thing Mr. Man doesn’t mind doing it.

D. Dogs: I like dogs that are proper dogs:  Rottweilers, German Shepherds, Pit Bulls, Bloodhounds.  Something that would give a burglar pause, if not enough of a fright to choose a different house to rob. Maybe a pair of them.   Nothing you can fit in a purse is a proper dog.  However, I will make a cuteness allowance for dachshunds.  And I will take it away because a dachshund is a small, yappy-type dog.

E. Essential Start to Your Day: Coffee.  Oh, coffee.  I could wax rhapsodic about the wonder and joy of a well-made cup of joe, about how very essential coffee is to me rising in the morning, but I think I’ve already been over that here.

F. Favorite Color: I love black, which isn’t a color, per se, and I love jewel tones, like bright raspberry pink and royal purple.  I like orange a lot, but can’t wear it, same goes for yellow.

G. Gold or Silver:  Silver all the way, baby.  Or white gold.  Or platinum.

H. Height: The measurement of vertical distance, but has two meanings in common use. It can either indicate how “tall” something is, or how “high up” it is. (source: Wikipedia/height).

I. Instruments You Played: I learned clarinet oh those many years ago, but doubt I could play a note anymore, and I’ve recently begun fooling around with ukulele.  I should really practice more on that….

J. Job Title: Legal Assistant II

K. Kids: may refer to

  • Child
  • Young goats, or leather made from their hides
    • Goat meat from young goats (source: Wikipedia)

L. Live: Emo rock band from the 90’s.  Most notable hit, “Lightning Crashes“.  Listen for it in your favorite grocery store’s easy-listening mix.

M. Mom’s name: Prefer not to state.  Never know who’s reading, and can’t be too sure an ID theft person wouldn’t take interest.

N. Nicknames: Gina,  Miss Knotty.  But most people don’t call me that. It’s more of a pseudonym than a nickname.

O. Overnight Hospital Stays: None, knock on wood.

P. Pet Peeves: Bad grammar from people who should really know better.

Q. Quote from a Movie: “I just want you to know, we’re all counting on you.” – Airplane

R. Righty or Lefty: Lefty!

S. Siblings: Yup, I have them.

T. Time You Wake Up: As late as I possibly can and still make it to work reasonably on time.

U. Underwear: brightly colored!

V.Veggies You Don’t Like: Mustard greens.  I like collards, kale and turnip greens, but I just don’t like mustard greens.

W. What Makes You Run Late:Define “late”.

X. X-Rays You’ve Had: Sinuses, and teeth. That’s it.  Again, knock on wood.

Y. Yummy Food You Make: Chocolate coffee toffee oatmeal cookies.  Oh, they are that good.

Z. Zoo Animal Favorites: Penguins, definitely.  And not available at the zoo, but at the aquarium, sloths.  Love the sloths.  Also skunks.  But only cute stuffed-animal versions, not the real ones, so much.

Leave a Reply

 
