Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,487 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

Guh.

Posted by Miss Knotty on January 18, 2011

I’m writing to you a little disappointed this evening, however still a little excited.  The disappointment comes from the fact that I’m going to have to rip back SEVERAL bind-offs on the Super Secret Knit Project, because they are too tight. Bah.

The excitement comes from the fact that I’m BINDING OFF THE SUPER SECRET KNIT PROJECT! EEEEE!!!1!

So, looking forward to not having to show you The Hand for much longer, which is cool.

Also, I might, just might have gone COMPLETELY HOG WILD at the KnitPicks 40% off book sale.  I bought five (5!) knitting books for right around $10 each.  I managed (somehow) to only buy 5, even though my wish list probably has 15 or more books on it.

I got:

More Big Girl Knits (which I actually found a bit disappointing, but more on that another time)

Knit So Fine

Wrapped in Lace

Knitting Socks from Handpainted Yarn; and

Stitch & Bitch: Superstar Knitting (a Beyond The Basics guide).  I’m super jazzed about this one, for numerous reasons:

1) When the first Stitch ‘N Bitch book came out, I was already a bit past the level of the projects in that book (or at least I thought I was), and there weren’t really any projects in there that sang out to me.  I was impressed with Stitch ‘N Bitch Nation, I liked Stitch ‘N Bitch: Happy Hooker, I understood the idea behind Son of Stitch ‘N Bitch, but again, nothing in there grabbed me (and why would it?  I have no boys to knit for, and the man for whom I might knit runs so hot that he would likely never wear a sweater, unless he was in the midst of a brutal flu, complete with hot-then-cold fevers, and who would want to knit a sweater for the times a year that a person gets sick?  Forget. That.) So, while I bought Stitch ‘N Bitch: Happy Hooker in yet another vain an effort to learn to crochet, no really, this time it’s going to stick, the patterns didn’t really do it for me, I was VERY impressed with the knowledge base in Superstar Knitting (plus there’s a great pattern in there for a double-knit bag with a lotus motif, knit by a Dallas designer.  Gotta support muh peeps!).  This one will probably be alongside The Knitter’s Companion for me, in terms of usefulness and relatable reference.

I still want to really get the crochet thing down; there’s a LOT of amigurumi books that I’ve acquired and I really want to make some of them.  Little Robots, a Cthulu Tree Topper (yes, you read that right), a Frog Prince doll from an Interweave Crochet issue a while back, lots of things!) I’ll get there. Just not as quickly as I’ll get there knitting. Ha.

I’m teaching a girlfriend at work how to knit, and the old adage is true about not knowing how well you know a thing until you try to teach it to another person.  She’s getting it, though, and she’ll be making beautiful things in no time!

One Response to “Guh.”

  1. Jennifer said

    Hee! Thanks for the shout out! :D

Leave a Reply

 
