Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,470 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

Dyed on the wool.

Posted by Miss Knotty on July 11, 2010

Some of you might recall that I knit a Hemlock Ring blanket.  (I hope that all of you recall, considering it was mere weeks ago.).  Y’all probably also recall that I dyed it over 4th of July weekend.  If you follow me on Facebook, you’ll also know that it’s FINITO! Dyed, cured, soaked, rinsed, dried and reblocked.  Woot!  It didn’t turn out exactly as I planned, but it is pretty in its own right.

I hung it up on top of my vertical blinds with sunlight behind it, and shot it with flash, and again without.
Hemlock Ring Dyed-Dry Hemlock Ring Dyed-Dry Arty lace shot

I think it’s rather delightful. It’s very pretty, and the wool is every bit as soft as it was before. I was a little worried about felting, but you can see that it all worked out just fine. (at least I hope you can see that….)

Specs:

Used Jacquard Acid dyes, ‘finished’ with a liberal spraying of vinegar.
Rolled into a vinyl shower curtain, then ‘cured inside of a black trash bag, in a bucket, in the back of a black hearse in Texas in July for 4 days. Rinsed, dried and blocked over Friday/Saturday.

I gotta say in a patting-my-own-back kind of way, I’m proud that I didn’t apply any heat to my afghan. I let the sun and the humid Dallas heat do the heavy lifting for the curing part, and I think it turned out pretty. Not exactly what I was going for, but pretty.

Weirdness:
Instead of plastic wrap, I used a vinyl shower curtain. If I had it to do over again, I’d probably opt to wrap/roll it in both. The dye leeched out of either end of the shower curtain and some areas of the afghan look washed out.

The YELLOW dye moved.  Seriously.  I thought for sure the coral/red dye would soak into the yellow and totally obscure it.  Instead, the LIGHTER color overpowered the darker one.  Isn’t that trippy?

So now it’s blocked, dried and folded, ready for a nippy day so I can curl up with my pretty, pretty flower of a blanket.
Hemmy Folded Hemmy Folded (Flash))

One Response to “Dyed on the wool.”

  1. Tasha said

    Wow – that turned out really pretty. And yeah, I’m with you – I totally would have assumed that the yellow would be gone, not that it would spread into the darker color. Who knew?

Leave a Reply

 
