Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,486 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

Arresting

Posted by Miss Knotty on May 9, 2010

Mr. Man and I spent a lovely hour at the bookstore yesterday, and we picked up this gem:
Mug Shots of the Famous and Infamous
This. Book. is. Fascinating. They had it on special, and seriously?  Best $5.99 we’ve spent.  It’s riveting!! I’m already more than halfway through it, and the little ‘Cliff Notes’ on each story are just … well, they’re arresting.  You feel like you have to read them.  Of course, the reason we picked up the book in the first place, was our man on the upper-right hand corner – Mr. Francis Albert Sinatra, arrested 1938 for Seduction (which was, under promise of marriage, having … ahem… relations with single young lady, then of good repute).  Charge was later commuted to Adultery (which carries a lesser fine), when it was discovered that complainant was married.  How young he looks.

I don’t know why I’m so fascinated with this thumbnail history, but I just really am.  Is it macabre, do you think?

Macabre or not, I will say, the reading of this book has put a bit of a crimp in my ‘knitting socks in 7 days” thing; even as I got up to the arch shaping on the 2nd sock on Friday night, and through the heel flap and short row shaping on Saturday, since I was up until 2 am reading this book last night, you can probably surmise that I got no knitting done, but I did rest my hands, which were probably tired anyway.  I picked up the stitches for the gusset and then laid the sock aside to read, read, read.
Sock Progress
On another note, I think that I’m going to need to rip back to the heel flap and start again from there, because my gauge is markedly different through the gusset.  My stitches are tighter, and my gusset ends 1/4″ before the gusset on the more relaxed first sock, which may not seem that important to a non-knitter, it makes a big difference in the size and fit of the finished sock.  The first sock fits my foot really well, and I think the second will feel tight and uncomfortable at the new gauge.  Either something is on my mind that I haven’t finished working out yet, or I’m trying too hard to get sock 2 to match sock 1 and I need to be knitting this while watching movies and relaxing, not concentrating on making sure the socks match, since, as usual, I took no notes and am eyeballing it.
Sock 1 - The look of sock Sock 2 - knitting too tight from the gusset Gauge difference

Finally, please accept my apologies for not blogging yesterday, but I didn’t have anything to say, and I don’t particularly want to write tripe just because I can’t think of anything to say. I was listening to the latest Knitajourney podcast, and she talks about finding the numinous in the quotidian, which, I think means finding the special, gleaming moments inside of the everyday stuff, which is a neat idea, but I kind of think writing about those moments cheapens them a little bit. Instead, I should simply bask in them, rather than trying to commit them down to prosaic, insufficient words and ‘share’ them with you all.

Leave a Reply

 
