Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

    20160719_225312

    20160719_225238

    20160719_225259

    Schachenmayr etc Bamboo+ Cotton (1)

    CEY Seedling Raspberry

    More Photos
  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,411 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

Decision, hastily made.

Posted by Miss Knotty on April 20, 2010

I think I’ve pinned down the knitting overwhelmedness issue.  As you probably recall, I’m working on SpillyJane’s Gnome Mitts:
Gnome Mittens in Progress (4.17.10)
and they’re coming along swimmingly.

You might also recall that I mentioned starting a pair of ShiBui Transition Gloves. (another colorwork project).

Well, work went KerPlooey! and took all my available gray matter with it. Things have been so busy that I haven’t had the energy to frog, much less knit, anything.  Even plying seems like a something that I Just Don’t Get Right Now (par example:  I tried to ply the fabulous piece de resistance singles last night, and gave up in frustration after two (TWO!) instances where BOTH SINGLES BROKE <cry>). I ripped back my Lady Bertram Shawlette, as even doing increases every so often seems to have me baffled right now, and the lace makes me afraid to knit too quickly, which is kind of unheard-of for me – I’ve never been one to back down from a challenge. I kind of want to do one of those piano illusion scarves (rav link), but I’m worried at how that might turn out in my current lack of mind. I could start some socks, perhaps, but socks aren’t really doing it for me right now. I spent this evening with Mr. Man, watching an old favorite film, (GiGi with Leslie Caron, Louis Jourdan, Maurice Chevalier and Hermione Gingold), and poring through [some of] my massive collection of Patterns From Teh Interwebs!(tm), and pulled out one that I printed out EONS ago, and even have yarn for already: Veronik Avery’s Lace Ribbon Scarf, from the Spring 2008 Knitty.  Yes, the laciness is a little more fiddly than back and forth garter stitch, but the pattern promises to be “easily memorized and a breeze to work on in otherwise wasted moments” and besides, scads of people have made them.  Also, did I mention I already have the yarn for this?
Alpaca Sox Black
So I wound up a ball, pulled out my Addi Turbo Size US 3 (3.25mm) circular, pulled the pattern out of the 3-ring binder and stuffed it all into my knitting bag, so I can start it tomorrow while I knit with Blogless Erica. WEEE!

I’ll probably only need 2 skeins for the scarf, so maybe I’ll do a little coordinating and make some mitts and a hat with the other one, so I can do the matchy matchy thing.  I don’t know why I’m so into the coordinating and matchy matchy thing lately.  Hopefully it’s just a phase and I’ll go back to the, ‘I meant to look like this; it’s an outfit” look soon.  Or maybe not.  People seem to like this ‘coordinating’ thing.

One Response to “Decision, hastily made.”

  1. FyrDrakken said

    This is why I make sure I *always* have at least one plain stockinette sock on the needles. A little bit of increasing or decreasing at the calf, there may be striping involved, and if it’s my worsted-weight striped kneesocks pattern there’ll be some colorwork at the top just under the ribbing that I try to get out of the way in the course of a weekend — but I always need to have at least one project I can work on in a darkened movie theater, or when I’m too tired or brain-dead to focus on anything fiddly.

Leave a Reply

 
