Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,470 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

Wherein the knitter wrestles with the vagaries of modern technology.

Posted by Miss Knotty on November 18, 2009

Well, there’s not a lot to say here.  I got a new-to-me iPod at a deep discount, and it’s in very good condition, which is kind of awesome.

The vagaries I speak of are corrupt files on my iTunes, on my computer.  Until about 40 minutes ago, trying to adjust the ‘podcast’ settings on my iTunes so it would sync with my iPod was killing it every time.  I took some advice from a computer savvy friend of mine, and I hope to have fixed the problem.  Well, at least until the next problem pops up, because that’s the way of the modern (in)convenience.  But it’ll all be alright.  So anyway, I unsubscribed and resubscribed to a whole slew of podcasts, (I’m really sorry for jacking up all your stats, podcasters!  I was trying to get my computer to cooperate!  It wasn’t malicious, I promise!), and now I’ve got some fantastic knitting podcasts to look forward to listening.  Here’s the list of what I like to listen to (that I’ve managed to get to work):

  • Here’s to Ewe!
  • Cast On
  • Knit Naturally (Texas Podcaster, and a ROCKSTAR)
  • Knitting Rose (Texas Podcaster, and a ROCKSTAR)
  • Craft Lit
  • Brass Needles
  • Stitch It!!
  • KIPing it Real
  • The High Fiber Diet
  • CogKNITive
  • Knitmore Girls
  • The Manic Purl
  • Sticks & String
  • Lime & Violet (when they have new content…. it’s been a while.)
  • Stash & Burn
  • Gives Good Knit
  • Never Not Knitting

I’m always open to new folks, so let me know if you have a fave that’s not listed here, and I’ll add them on!

I think I’ve isolated the culprit that keeps killing my iTunes, and that’s Accident Hash, which is (was?) a GREAT podcast out of Boston that plays (or used to play) the best in podsafe music, but I can’t get it to work anymore, and if it causes my machine to go boom, then I’m not going to hassle with it.  Sorry CC Chapman, love you dude, but fix your podcast so it doesn’t kill my system.

In knitting whatnot, the knitting continues on the Apres Surf Hoodie – I’m crawling up the sleeve – have about 9 out of 12 increase rows done (I have to increase 2 sts every 8 rows).  The rows are much shorter than the body rows, but for some reason I’m just really struggling on this sleeve.  I keep pulling out the swatch and feeling how lovely and soft it is after blocking, because the yarn is a little…. well, it’s crunchy right now.  I know it blooms up lovely, but I’m not feeling it in my fingers, and I need a carrot on a stick to get the thing done.  I have so many projects desperately clamoring for my attention, and I really, really want to get this done, so I can wear it.  It’ll be my first sweater, and it’ll also be my first cashmere sweater.  (hopefully not my last – cashmere is a luscious, lovely thing.)

Aeolian, which I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned here before, is an absolutely beautiful shawl with absolutely beautiful beading.  The beads I picked are too big, really, for the yarn I paired them with, and I’ve decided that I’m going to frog it.  It’s beautiful, and I love the color pairing, but I’m just really anxious that the beads are going to chew through the yarn in no time and I’ll have a beautiful, damaged project, and that Just Won’t Do.  So I’m going to rip back and pair the yarn with some smaller beads, or maybe switch yarns/beads altogether.  Heck, I may rip it out and switch projects altogether.  I’ve been thinking a lot about that Gypsy Shawl lately, maybe I’ll pull out that luscious hunter green baby alpaca and do that.  Or maybe I’ll (finally) do the Tina Shawl in that lovely cream-colored laceweight alpaca I bought – (2200 yards for $14!), or perhaps I’ll pull out the beautiful silver silk from Colourmart that I bought and knit the Crown Prince Square shawl.  Or maybe the cobweb-weight ice blue that I got for the mystery shawl I never started, because I didn’t like the finished piece… Or maybe that springy chartreuse mystery laceweight… Or maybe the Accidental Knitter Hand Dyed fingering weight yarn I’ve had in my stash for nearly 3 years (it’s been clamoring for a project, though, I haven’t really found the right one.) …..Or…. Or…. Or…. Or….

Darn it!! Gotta finish the Apres Surf! I want to wear it!  I need to finish it! GAH!

Leave a Reply

 
