Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,439 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

20 days.

Posted by Miss Knotty on October 11, 2009

Monkey Socks
Okay, this is minor to most people, probably, but I think it’s pretty darned cool.  I knit a pair of socks in 20 days.  A Pair. of. Socks.  20 days.  I can pretty much thank Dancing With The Stars for part of that, because I knit the socks through 2 weeks of DWTS broadcasts and missed week 3, but knit some on them that week, when I would have been watching DWTS but was out and about and missed the show.  But it’s okay.  I wasn’t entirely project-monogamous to the socks, and I still managed to start and finish them in 20 days.  I think it probably has something to do with the fact that the pattern is easy, works up fast and looks good in a million different yarns.  It looks FANTASTIC as a solid, too, so I’m really pleased.  Anyway, here’s the sweet and lowdown:

Monkey Socks Detail
Pattern: Monkey, by Cookie A.
Mods: Knit on a US2 (2.75 mm) instead of a US 1(2.25mm)
Yarn: Knit Picks Gloss Sock, in Cosmos (2nd pic is a better approximation of color)
Fits woman’s 8-8.5 foot.
For: my Mom.  (Hi mom!)

I’m kinda floored about the 20 days thing.  It blows my mind, to tell the truth.  It’s nerdy, I know, but I’m irrationally proud of myself.  Hopefully I’ll finish Sunday Swing as quickly and I’ll be onto another project.  I surmise that Sunday Swing will not be finished as quickly, only because I’m moving at the end of the month, and moving (actually, really, the preparation to move, the move, and the subsequent unpacking) does not lend itself to a lot of knitty time.  I’ll do my best to carve out some time (probably during DWTS), but I’m reasonably confident to say that I probably won’t get as much time in on these until after I’m ensconced in a new address.  But I’m okay with that.  And frankly, my hands are kind of okay with that too, because they’re a wee bit sore, and carpal tunnel doesn’t look good on me at all.  Just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

 
