Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,487 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

Gimme some mo….hair.

Posted by Miss Knotty on August 31, 2009

So I went to the Delightful Hands sale last week.  I’ll spare you the gory details of how much I spent, but I’ll share with you how much I bought, and share some pictures of the pretty. :)

So…. Yeah.  I was great on Friday.  I was all… “I’m on vacation, what will I do?”  I was going to sit home and watch TV-on-DVD – I was all set – 2 discs of Burn Notice Season 1, Disc 1 of Californication, 3 Cinematic Titanic discs, and I got up on Friday, chilled out for a while, and, since Mr. Man wasn’t over at my place yet, I decided, what the hey!  I’ll drive on up there, it’ll probably be pretty picked over, so my budget will be safe, because I won’t spend a bunch of money I don’t have on yarn I don’t really want, no problem.  My willpower is strong enough!  Yeah!

….. Riiiiiiiight..   If you psych your willpower up before you go to a yarn shop, you are powerless against $1 a ball mohair, and Berroco Pure Merino DK in your favorite colors at 40% off. I’m just sayin’.

Needless to say, I fell down at the yarn shop.  I fell down, my credit card flew as if by magic out of my wallet, and slid through the credit card machine, which laughed its wicked laugh and took my money with glee and merriment, and I took home over 60 balls of yarn.  Over. 60. Balls. I mentioned it was deep discounted, right?

I am a bad, bad Mormon. Or I would be, if I was a Mormon.

But look how pretty it is in my cabinet!

Yarn Cabinet with New Goodies

The Haul:

Yarn from Delightful Hands

Top row, L to R: Feza Lama Mohair in Purple & Cream, Feza Kid Mohair in variegated purples

Middle row, L to R: Twinkle Kid Mohair in chocolate, Feza Kid Mohair in variegated aqua, Berroco Pure Merino DK in Dk Grey

Bottom row, L to R: Berroco Pure Merino DK in Black, Cream and Eggplant.

So Yeah.  I have a lot of mohair to go on top of my other LOTS of mohair:

Mohair Fandom

(I might love mohair… maybe. A bit. Perhaps. I admit nothing.)

But I digress.  I’m thinking of making an Estonian lace shawl with some of this – I have over 4200 yards of that beautiful purple Lama Mohair, so I’m thinking a pretty square shawl is in order, or maybe the Vortex Shawl.  We shall see.

In other news, I have been knitting, but not any of my new stuff.  I ordered some yarn for my Mom awhile back from Knit Picks, namely, the Gloss Sock Yarn in Coal (or is it Carbon?) and Cosmos; black and purple, respectively.  After some hemming and hawing, and a couple of false starts, I settled on Monkey for the Cosmos.  No, it doesn’t have monkey motifs, but it’s very pretty and it’s coming up great in this solid yarn – beautiful stitch definition and a lot of fun to knit up.  I’m working it up on my Harmony Size US1 (2.25mm) needles, (thank you again for the beautiful needles, Mr. Man! I love you!), and I’m knitting both at once, so my gauge doesn’t get all wacky and so that the socks will be finished at relatively the same time, which is cool, actually, and less likely that I’ll get the dreaded Second Sock Syndrome.

I still haven’t figured out what I’m going to do with the black yet – I want to do something really cool, because knitting plain black socks sounds like a recipe for personal madness, not to mention?  You can BUY black knit socks.  I don’t want to make something you can just go buy.  I want to make something you can’t buy.  So I’m still looking for patterns that will 1) show up in black yarn (this yarn is pretty dark black, with a subtle sheen (from the silk content) that will show off a texture) and 2) won’t be absolutely insane to knit.

I also finally cast on the front of my Apres Surf Hoodie.  The cast on is a bit of a pain (It’s an invisible provisional cast on, but different from the crocheted provisional cast on), so I was reluctant to do it, but I really do want to have this hoodie to wear come cold weather in Dallas (Come on cold weather!) , and like they say with the lottery, you can’t win if you don’t play (which I don’t, but it’s a good point) – You can’t finish if you don’t knit!  So I grit(ted?) my teeth and cast it on, and I got a good 1.5″ knit on it last night – amazing how fast sport weight in stockinette, knit comfortably on a US3 (3.25mm) goes when you’ve been used to knitting a light fingering weight tightly on a US1 (2.25mm).

I also finished my weaving project du jour, but I’m not going to talk about that here, because it’s going to be a gift for someone and I don’t want to risk letting the secret out before I actually gift it, but I will take pictures and post them once they’re gifted.

So anyway, that’s the knitty news that is.  I’m on vacation this week, and on the docket today is a lovely matinee and general take-it-easy-ness.  We were going to go to the Aquarium and the 6th Floor museum today but that’s been postponed to Thursday due to a little bit of irritating static this morning, and we’re going to catch a matinee of Julie & Julia this afternoon.

Leave a Reply

 
