Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,470 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

It was a one-time expense….

Posted by Miss Knotty on June 8, 2009

So, yeah.  I bought a Schacht Cricket Loom on Saturday, from the White Rock Weaving Center in Dallas, TX, with my friend Lara, creator of Darktwist, who confided in me that she has avoided White Rock Weaving previously out of an innate sense of self-preservation (well, wallet preservation, but whatevs), so she got to experience it for the first time too – big fun times!!! As an aside, WRW has both single AND double-treadle Schacht Matchless Wheels (I’m just sayin’.)   Did I squee? Yes I did.  Did I fall down?  I might have, but I didn’t buy a Matchless.  (Score one for self-control.  A very tiny one. Like a tiny little piece of a tick-mark. Not even a whole tick-mark.)  

I did buy 4 oz of beautiful Colonial  roving and just over 5 oz of Merino/Silk that looks like blue jeans.  I also bought some dyed silk cocoons and some undyed silk caps to spin, too, and some 8/2 cotton for warp yarn (See that?! I just used weaving parlance! Yeeeaaahh!!)

The downside of this is that my place didn’t get its usual weekend treatment (I clean on weekends. Crazy, I know.), so my house is kinda messy (not dirty, but cluttered.) and my clothes still need washing and folding.  I LOATHE folding clothes.  Loathe it.  I would GLADLY clean bathrooms and kitchens all the live-long day, if I didn’t have to fold clothes. But unfortunately I have to do both.  Le sigh. (dramatic pose)  Peel me a grape!  (/dramatic pose)

Yeah, so anyway, I kinda wove the day away on Sunday, and had a finished scarf by the end of the day.  It was LOVELY. I used cream-colored wool from Blogless Libby as the warp, and leftover Noro Kureyon Sock Yarn as the weft.  It’s kinda weird – the creamy warp kinda washes out the colors in the Kureyon, and I haven’t knotted the fringe yet, and I haven’t washed it, either, so I’m interested to see what happens once I do that.  It was an even weave/simple weave fabric, not at all complex, and I could probably use the woven fabric and embroider some prettiness onto the fabric with the still-more-leftover Noro Kureyon Sock – that could be kinda neat and cute… but I haven’t fully decided about that yet.

I realized as I was knitting after finishing my weaving last night that I’ve blown past the 10.25″ mark on my Apres Surf Hoodie (Interweave Knits, Summer 2008) and I need to pull back a couple rows (oops!) so I can start the bust shaping.  I’m not clear about whether I need to knit the bust shaping on the back (why would I? I don’t have … ahem… bust on my back, now do I?!), but there’s not a second set of instructions about the back, so I’m not sure what to do there yet – I may just continue straight knitting.  I’ll have to sit down and re-read the instructions. I’m trying to follow instructions, since I’m not the very best of instruction-followers, but I’ve never knit a pieced sweater before, so I figure it’s best to follow the path already taken in this case.

I don’t have any pictures to show right now, as two things happened – my ‘profile settings’ on my home computer went splat, and I haven’t recovered them yet ( my photos were saved in a folder on my desktop…), and I haven’t taken any photos – I was so busy actually doing the weaving and the shopping and the knitting and the movie-watching and the partying that I didn’t stop to take pictures (although Mr. Man’s cousin Andy took more than plenty at the party), so I don’t have any to upload anyway.   I’ll take some pictures tonight to upload, once my computer recovers, and update my post to include info about partying and movie-watching.  As it happens, I’m out of time here at lunch, so I’m going to have to sign off.  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

 
