Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

    20160719_225312

    20160719_225238

    20160719_225259

    Schachenmayr etc Bamboo+ Cotton (1)

    CEY Seedling Raspberry

    More Photos
  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,413 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

I love THIS yarn: in which the knitter/spinner discusses making yarn by hand

Posted by Miss Knotty on April 3, 2009

Plied yarn 4.3.09 Plied yarn 2 4.3.09

Isn’t it purty?! I’m thrilled to pieces that this is working, particularly since I had a rough start with the plying process. Turns out that chatting and plying aren’t really that good of friends. It also turns out that my self-taught, poor hand technique was causing stupid and very angering amounts of breakage in my yarn. You can imagine my frustration, I’m sure.  But, I watched a YouTube video on Plying by Abby Franqemont, and got it all sorted.  Now I’m making very very pretty yarn, and I’m beyond pleased.   I’m hopeful that, once all is said and done, that I’ll be able to get either a pair of mitts or maybe socks out of this yarn, because it’s freakin awesome and I LOVE it.

Update:  I used my mad algebra skillz to estimate that I have approximately 203 yards on this hank of yarn, which is AWESOME.  I didn’t weigh it, though, and I’m guessing the yarn weight to be a sport to DK weight.  I’ll flash the hank tonight so you can see are the luscious yarny-ness.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

 
