Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

    20160719_225312

    20160719_225238

    20160719_225259

    Schachenmayr etc Bamboo+ Cotton (1)

    CEY Seedling Raspberry

    More Photos
  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,413 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

It’s too big: In which the knitter laments that the sweater she is making doesn’t fit properly, but in kind of a good way.

Posted by Miss Knotty on April 1, 2009

I tried on the sweater last night.  The fronts overlap, by A LOT, which could be perceived as a good thing.  I’m trying to lose weight, so if a sweater with measurements from last October does not fit properly because it’s muchmuchmuch too big is actually a sign of positive progress in the weight-loss department.  That said, it still doesn’t fit, and I want a sweater that FLATTERS, not a sweater that swallows me up.  

Hip point 2 3.31.09

I think I may have over-increased in the raglan section (namely, the ONLY portion of the sweater where increases are required), and so the armholes are massive, and I have a TON of room inside the sweater, which bothers me.)  I wanted a sweater I could wear over clothes, but not a sweater I could wear OVER ANOTHER SWEATER, and that’s what my sweater is working out to be.  Also?  When I put it on, it made me look totally flat-chested and shapeless.  I will tell you that my (generous) bosoms were less than pleased to DISAPPEAR into the sweater.  I don’t know what to do now. I think I may have to rip back to at LEAST the armholes and redo, but at the same time, it’s a lot of work, and I don’t rightly know if I can make myself do it! I I’ve been working on this piece since last October, and I don’t know if I can deal with the idea of getting almost finished with a sweater and have to rip out again.  I realize that this time it would be totally a result of my lack of mad skillz but the sweater is pretty big.  Maybe some shaping through the sides to bring it in through the waist, then let it flair back out, like vertical darts?.  I think maybe that it didn’t seem so big on the needles until I put it on a string and tried it on, but darn it!  Darn it Darn It, DARN IT!!

Pictures – look and see – it’s BIG.
Sweater sizing 3.31.09 Hip point 3.31.09 

On the plus side:

I’m losing weight and clothes look and fit differently on me than they did just six months ago! WOO HOO!!!

One Response to “It’s too big: In which the knitter laments that the sweater she is making doesn’t fit properly, but in kind of a good way.”

  1. Eunice said

    Would it work to overlap a lot and put a shawl pin right at the color change?

Leave a Reply

 
