Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,431 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

“But what does it DO?”

Posted by Miss Knotty on March 2, 2009

So, it would appear that I have knit an antimacassar of DOOM.
Doily of doom

It measures 29.5″ across the widest point (including picots), and I’ m honestly STUMPED as to what to do with it.  It’s a ginormous DOILY.
Doily of doom 2

Sure, it’s pretty, but…. Seriously?  What do I do with it?It’s too big for a bag, too small for a blanket, too …. I don’t know.  It’s a big big circle that’s pretty.  Unsuitable for a hat:
Unsuitable hat

it’s pretend-crazy hair:
Prepare the laserbeam

Sexy, eh?

Details:  EZ Pi shawl pattern, knit with Noro Kureyon on sz US 10.5 needles. Used three distinct colorways of Kureyon that were left over from the Messenger bag that I still haven’t bothered to sew a strap for.  It sits, all forlorn, waiting for me to do something with it, because really?  It’s a fabulous bag. But right now it’s just a fabulous pouch, due to the afore-mentioned lack of strappage.

In other ‘finishing things news, I also saw the light on my Dr. Who Noro Striped Scarf, and realized that although I love the idea of a scarf going on and on until  forever, 1×1 rib is BORING, and if I make it much longer, I won’t want to wear it, because it’ll be in the way all the time, and I’m not really one of those groovy boho people who can pull off a 20’ long scarf, no matter how many times I twine it around my neck. Add to that that this is wool and silk and by the time I get it wound around enough that I won’t accidentally hang myself with it, and it’ll be about a zillion degrees and too hot for practical wear in Texas.  But it is pretty.  So I bound it off.  Here it is in all its glory:

Noro Striped Scarf

Details:

Noro Striped Scarf, inspired from Brooklyn Tweed’s version, knit in 1×1 rib using Noro Kureyon Sock and Silk Garden Sock, and I have BUNCHES of each left over.  Cast on 32 stitches instead of just 20. Knit on a US 3 (3.25mm) Addi turbo.  Finished length 6′ and 3.5″ wide or so.  I didn’t measure, but it looked like about 6′.

Feet included for scale:
Feet included for Scale

I plan to make a hat with the same patterning (1×1 rib, switching every couple rounds) to go with this scarf, but need to find a pattern with appropriate gauge, as I am too lazy to do the math.  I could do one of those hats that’s just a sewn-together square, but I think a beanie would be much cuter, and I don’t want to seam ribbing.  I intend to make a matchy-matchy set because of the Yarn Harlot’s post last January 21, that mentioned knitters and matchy-matchy knits, and I realized that The Harlot and her daughter are right. Knitters will (sometimes) have unmatched winter accessories because they liked this yarn or that pattern or what have you, and will often end up warm, but looking like a kindergartner given permission to dress herself, which works for some people, but just kinda looks immature and poorly-put-together on me.  So I will knit the matching hat, and it will look nice. I’ll probably never want to see 1×1 ribbing again as long as I live (until the next ooh shiny project), but at least I’ll look snazzy. I might also make some fingerless mitts to go with the rest of the warm ensemble, but we’ll have to see how my yarn holds out, won’t we?  Besides, I might allow myself a LITTLE bit of license on the gloves.  Maybe.  It partly depends on whether I’ll have enough yarn, and partly depends on whether I will feel TOO matchy-matchy with a hat, scarf and glovies that all match. We’ll have to see.

In other good news, I found a ‘grown-up’ coat.  I was at Target with Mr. Man today, and we just happened to find it, and darned if it isn’t just perfect.  It’s  a black trench-style coat that hits me just above the knee, double breasted, and the liner is fuschia.  It’s a good weight for Texas, which doesn’t really need a coaty-coat, because really?  It doesn’t get that cold here.  Plus it was reasonably priced, which is a bonus, and it fits really nicely. So yeah. The purple velvet smoking jacket has had a wonderful, full life, and I do love it so, but it’s got big big  holes in it, and the pockets are giving out, and it’s stained, and most of the buttons are gone, and it was time for a new coat; a grown-up coat not from a thrift store.  I feel kind of accomplished, to tell the truth.

2 Responses to ““But what does it DO?””

  1. Birdy said

    You never told me you were a Dr. Who fan! Awesome!

    So I am a terrible internet friend, but I am redeeming myself by reading and commenting on past posts. ;-)

  2. dad said

    It might look pretty on the big table at the lake.

Leave a Reply

 
