Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,470 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

Projecty-ness! (Finally!)

Posted by Miss Knotty on September 15, 2008

So, the Knitting Guild started off with a Bang.  I still need a December speaker, any takers?  We’d like someone to present on stash-busting gift and toy ideas as a presentation-type program, as December is kind of a holiday-party sort of program.  Odd, I know.  But I digress. 

Projectyness!
I’ve started some projects of the knitting persuasion, and even started, finished, and ripped a whole project, without a word to say on this blog.  I am the slacky-blogger.  Sorry.  And I didn’t even take a picture. Heh. 

So, okay, with frogged projects first:

1. I knitted an Urchin cap from the Fall ’07 Knitty. I measured my head and thought that the largest size would be the correct one, based on my head measurement.  Oooh no no.  It was ENORMOUS.  I don’t know if I failed to account for gauge or what, but this hat was NOT the right size, by several inches.  Ripped out.  I was bummed at this ripping, because this was the first project I’ve started, knitted and finished in my handspun, and it was a total washout.  So I’m going to knit this again in the smallest size, and maybe that will be closer to something I could actually wear on MY head.  Maybe.

2. Scarfyness!  I dug up my Spring 2006? Interweave Knits magazine and I’ve cast on the Candace Eisner-Strick Merging Colors Scarf on Page 10 of that fine publication.  it didn’t show up in Ravelry, to my chagrin, but I’m knitting on.  I am a wild child, I know.  I’m using the ‘Rose Garden’ kit, which starts with a very pretty pink rosy color and phases down to a rich royal purple, which isn’t terribly rose-gardenish, but whatchagonnado?  I’m up to the 2-2-3 color piece, which makes sense if you’ve knitted a CE-S Merging Colors pattern before – You knit with three strands of laceweight yarn held together in varying colors.  Each color iteration is numbered and you knit away for a certain amount of time, then you break off one strand and join in a strand of the next colors.  In my scarf, it’s 1-1-1, then 1-1-2, then 1-2-2, then 2-2-2, then 2-2-3, and so on, up until 8-8-8.  There’s also a cute little crocheted flower chain that transitions in the opposite direction and is sewn onto the scarf after completion.  Very, very simple, but classic and cute.  Anyway, it’s a really ingenious way to phase in color in a very gradual and non-jarring way, and I’m enjoying it so far, but will probably reach the end of my enjoyment somewhere around 5-5-6, or I might even enjoy it up to finishing 8-8-8 and then have a case of near fatal ennui when it comes to weaving in all the ends from the transitions.  Time will tell.  In the meantime, here is a pic of the progress:
Merging Colors Scarf 2

I’m knitting this exactly as written, and it’s this great rib pattern that’s different on odd and even rows (row 1 is k3, p3 across then row 2 is k1, p1 across), and the color does all the work, but it keeps it interesting).  My kacha-kacha is coming in very handily on this particular project, for the color changes.  Never thought I’d use a kacha-kacha, b/c I have difficulty counting that way, but it’s really become invaluable for this piece, and I’ve come to respect that little device in a whole new way since beginning this project.  It’s goofy, but there it is.

3.  My sweater swatch.  I’m sure you’re all waiting with bated breath to see my swatch for my sweater after my last post with Denim and Charcoal.  I’ve got it done, and I really like it!  The texturing in the pattern is such that I really didn’t have to do that much at all, just stranded in the 2nd color on a purl row, (doing purl 1 color, purl 2nd color all the way across the row), then switched entirely to the new color for the following (patterned) row.  It turned out to work really, really well! 
Swatch 1
So I’m pleased about that and am looking forward to proceeding with the sweater.  Still haven’t decided on sleeve treatment, with the color decision made, but I don’t really even have to worry about sleeves until next spring sometime, so I’ve decided not to borrow trouble until such time as the trouble gives of itself to me. Heh.

In other news, work is worky, and home is homey.  Things are going great with Mr. Man, and I’m happy as a clam, despite being very busy.  I do need to plan in some vacation time in the relatively near future, or I’ll lose the time altogether, and that’s bad, because if I don’t take any time off between now and 12/31, I’ll have over 100 hours of PTO banked, and I don’t get paid for that time if I don’t take it.  (Not to mention but I’ll be one TIRED Miss Knotty, and that doesn’t help anyone.)

So that’s the news that is. Hope all is well in your world!

Leave a Reply

 
