Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,439 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

Sock info:

Posted by Miss Knotty on April 6, 2008

Hey there, almost forgot to tell you about the orange socks! Almost.

Yarn is Mirasol Hacho. It doesn’t really have color names. I called it orange multi. 100% merino wool, sport/light dk weight.  A word about this yarn – it’s a bit overtwisted, and it can be kinda wormy, but nothing that just letting your knitting hang down and untwist every once in a while doesn’t correct, overall a pleasure to knit though. Also, I bought 2 balls from the same dyelot, and as you can tell from the pictures, they weren’t the same, so I produced very very similar fraternal twin socks, so I’m not sure what to make of that, particularly since they’re pretty either way, so no biggie, but they weren’t exactly the same, so if you’re really really particular about that, just keep that in mind.  I only had about 7″ of each yarn left (i knitted up the whole ball for each), so I can’t hold them next to each other and show you (and I didn’t take a picture, due to shameful camnesia on my part, sorry), but just take my word for it and be very conscientious about your matching for these guys.

All in all I loved knitting with this yarn.  I think it’d make a FANTASTIC bigger garment, but I don’t know what I’d knit with it, as I’m not exactly a sweater knitter, (yet).  I figure if I can knit an afghan I can knit a sweater, but I haven’t knit one of those yet either, except a baby one, but that’s different.  But I digress. Back to the sock stats!

Socks are knitted for an approx sz 9 1/2 foot, on US Sz 4 needles (3.5 mm), wide width – this was easy to achieve b/c this yarn is WAY sproingy, so I pulled it kinda tight to knit it, and it naturally ‘righted’ itself and was very cushy and comfy. I tried them on my size 8-8 1/2 not wide feet and they fit me comfortably, if a bit big, and Patti loves them (they were bday socks for her, and she says she loves them) so Yay! I knitted them toe up using magic cast-on and short row heels. They knitted up in about a week and a half, which was WAY cool! I have some Hacho in stash for socks for me, I’m going to have to cast them on soon and do some knitty knitty for my feetses!

Leave a Reply

 
