Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,439 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

Answers from the Movie Meme and Sock completion in very quick time!

Posted by Miss Knotty on April 1, 2008

I don’t know if I have really bad taste in movies, or if I just like indies and y’all don’t, or if I really do only have 3 readers who check my blog over and over and over and over, but I had a lot of empty spaces in my meme. So I’ll fill you in on some of my favorite movies, which may seem silly to you, but hey, that’s why they’re my favorites, and maybe not yours. :)

1. “You’re not bi-sexual, Carla – you’re omni-sexual! You’re like that tornado in the Wizard of Oz, sweeping up everything in your path. ” – Better Than Chocolate Great going, Jackie!

This is a sweet little romance, but it’s not for the more conservative among you – the love affair is between two women. You have been duly warned.

2. “A motorcycle? Oooh, is he a senior? Can he get beer?” – Advice From a Caterpillar,

Starring Cynthia Nixon and Andy Dick. This was a tiny little indie also featuring Timothy Olyphant, with whom I am in llllooovvveee, since his performance in Go. Not that it was Oscar-winning or anything, but he could be talking gibberish and I’d mute the TV and watch him. He is just… gorgeous to me. So I watch movies with him in them, even if they’re a little … off. That said, I enjoyed this movie, even more than I enjoyed Go. He is so. hot. Just sayin.

3. ” Look, are you and Cosmo in on this together? Because every time I see you, you seem to go out of your way to make me feel like a COMPLETE idiot. And you really needn’t bother: I already feel like an idiot most of the time anyway – with, or without the fireman’s pole.” – Bridget Jones Diary Way to go Erica

I. Love. This. Movie. Partly because it’s loosely based on Pride and Prejudice, partly because it stars Hugh Grant and Colin Firth, both on the DEEEELISH list (along with Ewan McGregor and Sean Connery, but that’s another movie), and partly because it’s just funny. So, so funny. I even liked the sequel, Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason. I’ve had the British soundtrack on my Amazon queue forever and I still haven’t gotten it, because it’s so expensive, but it has that great song, Woman Trouble, which is way fun to listen to, but isn’t on the American release. Boo.

4. “Daughter of Zeus? I bet she was married by 22.” – Stiff Upper Lips

A spoof of Merchant-Ivory films, which I love, so I had to watch the spoof too. Very, very funny. If you can find this one and you like M-I productions (i.e. A Room with a View, Remains of the Day, The Painted Veil, etc.), I really recommend it.

5. “Everybody’s born knowing all the Beatles lyrics instinctively. They’re passed into the fetus subconsciously along with all the amniotic stuff. Fact, they should be called The Fetals.” – Sliding Doors

Starring Gwyneth Paltrow and the delicious, but under-appreciated John Hannah.

6. “You know how someone’s appearance can change the longer you know them? How a really attractive person, if you don’t like them, can become more and more ugly; whereas someone you might not have even have noticed… that you wouldn’t look at more than once, if you love them, can become the most beautiful thing you’ve ever seen. All you want to do is be near them.” The Truth About Cats & DogsManda got this one!

I love this movie. It’s so sweet. And that quote at the end. Love. – Starring the ever hilarious Janeane Garofalo, and (again with the Brit love – Ben Chaplin.

7. “Maria was married on Saturday. In all important preparations of mind she was complete, being prepared for matrimony by a hatred of home, by the misery of disappointed affection, and contempt of the man she was to marry. The bride was elegantly dressed and the two bridesmaids were duly inferior. Her mother stood with salts, expecting to be agitated, and her aunt tried to cry. Marriage is indeed a maneuvering business.” – Mansfield ParkGood job, Erica!

This was, as you likely know, a Jane Austen adaptation. It was okay, as adaptations go, but the cast list was yummy – Edmund Bertram was played by Johnny Lee Miller, who is, as Cute Overload says, prosh, (precious + posh) and Thomas Bertram (the younger) is played by the dashing and usually villainous James Purefoy, a hottie of the highest caliber.

8. “When a woman’s got a husband, and you’ve got none, why should she take advice from you? Even if you can quote Balzac and Shakespeare and all them other high-falutin’ Greeks.” – The Music Man.

Starring the late Robert Preston and Shirley Jones, with Buddy Hackett and Hermione Gingold, who is hilarious, and Opie Cunningham, and other fabulous people. Where do I start? As a lover of musicals and the absurd, this movie just does it for me. Maaaaaaaa-rian(!) Lovely libraaaaaaaaaaaa-rian(!) I could go on, but knowing that it a) doesn’t translate to text well, and b) I can hear the dogs howling along with my singing, I will abstain, for your benefit, and for my poor neighbors.

9. ” I don’t want to be 60 years old some day and seemingly happily married to some man that I know is my second choice.” – Dream for an Insomniac

Ione Skye and McKenzie Astin. Yummy. Jennifer Aniston also performed in this movie, and I really, really like her as a character actress. Sure, she’s pretty, but she’s very funny and talented as a character actress. I wouldn’t mind seeing more of her movies (where she’s supporting. I saw her lead stuff, and it just didn’t really do it for me.)

10. “Yeah. Well, taxes are in April and my sisters birthday is in April. She married a veterinarian. That always makes me think of the time we went to the zoo and fooled around by the polar bear tank.” – I’m with Lucy

Which stars Monica Potter (who I think makes a better clothes hanger than actor, but I’m not a talent agent, I only watch movies.) and Henry Thomas. Who, if you don’t recall, was THE BOY FROM E.T. Well, he’s a man, now. And a cute one! This film also has a cache of eye candy, a bit for all kinds: Anthony LaPaglia, for the puffy Italian-loving types, Gael Garcia-Bernal for the Latino-loving contingent (or the emo-kid artsy-fartsy-lover contingent), John Hannah, for the British-loving contingent, and David Boreanaz (in daylight) for the OMG it’s Angel-loving variety (for the record, I’ll take Marsters over Boreanaz ANY DAY. And I still think Spike could wipe the floor with Angel in a fight.) I will admit to having phases where I loved most of these guy-types (Except the Bernal type (sex fiend megalomaniac) and the Boreanaz type – and the Boreanaz type because I didn’t like his character (which may be why I didn’t like him in Buffy, too. He played a moony, depressive, wussy vampire, except on the occasions where he put he evil face on (Angelus really turned me on – maybe I do like bad boys?), or when he’s fighting. Spike, on the other hand, was chaotic neutral; a loose cannon. He was evil, he was good, he tried to be evil again, and then he was just good. But then, in my book, he was always goooood (but in the guilty-pleasure way, not the shout-from-the-rooftops way). But I digress. (Which is why you come here, isn’t it? :-D)

I actually kind of crush on Boreanaz a bit on Bones – He’s cool on there. Still, though. Lucy is a fun watch for single women who are dating. The things that happen are totally outside the realm of reality, but it’s a fun watch, anyway.

For people who came for the knitting, I knit socks! In 4 days!
closeup
Here they are on my feet:
Socks on my feet 3.30.08
I haven’t shot them on Allane’s feet, and I haven’t heard whether they fit her, but she liked the color, so I count it a win!
Here’s a shot of the inside, because I like the marly look of the inside of socks sometimes, particularly hand-dyes, and I think this inside was very purty!
Pretty on the inside too

So there that is. Sorry for the link heavy post here, but at least it’s links and not pics? :)

One Response to “Answers from the Movie Meme and Sock completion in very quick time!”

  1. Patti said

    I have tried them on and love them!!! they feel great! and look awesome! they are so going with me on the cruise!! You are the Jedi Master … or should i call you Yoda?? I defer to you in all ways of the force that is knitting!!!

    love you and thanks and everyone i showed them to want a pair!! LOL I guess my next project will be socks!! LOL Great Christmas presents!

Leave a Reply

 
