Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,487 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

Iz thes thah feice what launched a fousand schieps?

Posted by Miss Knotty on September 24, 2007

The Face

But Wait, there’s more:

COXCU Schroeder

I give you, Schroeder the Skuirrehog. I wanted a skunk, so I married a Hedgehog and Squirrel Pattern, added in a dash of intarsia, felted the will to live out of it, and then stuffed it with batting.

Siay hhhhello to my li’l frennn:
Hug Me
And, of course, a little tail action, because what’s a skunk without a tail?
Schroeder Some More

Specs:
Patterns are the Fiber Trends Huggable Hedgehogs (by Debbie Radtke) and Nuts about Squirrels (also by Debbie Radtke). Intarsia pattern was my own, but was basically a simple little stairstep with the yarn, first outward, then back inward, and down either side of the tail.
Back Pre Felting
For the record, the Intarsia was the biggest challenge, because this was not only my first toy, but also my first intarsia project, because I like to mix it up like that. I took this as a class, and I think the poor teacher might have wanted to give me up for lost a couple times. That said, all worked out well, and he’s really adorable, so there’s no harm done.

Yarns: Black and White Cascade 220, and Bernat Boa in Raven for the black ‘fur’ and white Lion Brand Tiffany for the stripes. I think he came together pretty well, don’t you? I used less than 1 ball of all the yarns except the Bernat Boa – I had to get a 2nd of that, because Boa is a little short on yardage for this project – but for $2 a ball, I wasn’t out much and can’t complain.

Knit on a bamboo sz 10 1/2 circular needle. The tail opening was cast off and then provisionally cast back on, a la the sleeve for the Circumnavigated Cardigan, and then the provisional CO was pulled out and the tail knit down from the body – very little seaming – woot! The bottom of the body will still need to be sewn, as he’s only stuffed with interim stuffing for pictures right now.

I might be a leetle proud of my little skunk friend here, because he is cute, and I think he came out really, really well for the amount that I was flying by the seat of my pants. I don’t know why I chose to go with two stripes instead of 1, but I think it adds to the effect a little. So that’s my little Schroeder’s story.

5 Responses to “Iz thes thah feice what launched a fousand schieps?”

  1. JennyJake said

    The face came out SO GOOD!!!

  2. Amy N TX said

    Oh Schroeder is very cute. Very cute indeed. What a face!

  3. Sam said

    I love him! Soooo cute!

  4. AlisonH said

    Oh that’s so cute! Looks a lot like the one whose tail brushed my newlywed husband’s arm while grabbing his marshmallow off his stick. Than it sat back, tail leaning in against my sweetie, munching happily away. We were on our honeymoon in the Shenandoah Mountains. A little more back to nature than we’d planned on…

  5. Brie said

    Found your blog through ravelry and was just browsing old entries. This is absolutely adorable! Nice job. (And now I know where your avatar comes from. :)

Leave a Reply

 
