Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,472 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

Right address, wrong city.

Posted by Miss Knotty on June 17, 2007

Okay, so turn with me to John (the Gospel of John) Chapter 14:26

26But the Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.(1)

The story:

In Sunday school this morning, Parker asked us to turn to John 14:26 (the Gospel of John). We all begin turning. “Whoever gets there first please read it.” I get there (or so I think). Full of confidence, in a loud, clear voice I read: “If anyone comes to me and does not hate his father and mother, his wife and children, his brothers and sisters—yes, even his own life—he cannot be my disciple.”

“Uh, thanks… That’s not quite what my translation says… Are you sure you’re in John 14:26?” I look at my page again Chapter 14… Verse 26… Yeah. OF LUKE.

Oooops.

Yeah, wanna talk for a minute about things making sense in context? right. It didn’t. The (slightly more) embarrassing part is, my class is recorded, and posted on a podcast. (Can we edit that out?) So I’m caught on tape. Greeeeaaaat… Oh well. At least I have a clear reading voice. (Which is particularly loud and clear when I’m reading the wrong verse. Eh. Heh.)

Oh, well…. all scripture is good, right?

Moral of the story: Check your book. It’s great to read in Sunday School, and it’s nice to read out loud, but it really helps the lesson if you’re in the right book.

_______________________________

(1) All Bible References are from NIV, looked up on bible.com

Leave a Reply

 
