Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,439 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

This “duuuuude”, moment brought to you by: Lightning!

Posted by Miss Knotty on May 14, 2007

So, I’m sitting here, e-mail open, clipping my nails, and there’s this bright and brilliant flash behind me, and loud thunder immediately thereafter.  So I thought to myself, Man. I’d better turn the computer off (you know, just in case).  And so I do.  And then I hear the sirens. Loud ones. So I think to myself, gosh, those sirens are pretty loud.  Wonder if something happened…..  So I put down the clippers and go out my front door – The firetrucks are IN MY APARTMENT COMPLEX!!!

More specifically, they’re STOPPING IN FRONT OF MY BUILDING.  Then the alarms go off.  So I step back in my apartment and disarm the alarm, thinking that it’s just a system fluke.  No go.  I do it again, thinking user error.  It shuts off.  (Good. at least my kitties won’t be too freaked).   But just to be on the safe side, I see people congregating downstairs, so I grab the first available pair of flip flops, my purse, phone and keys, lock the door and go downstairs.  The firetrucks haven’t gone away yet; so I’m not taking any chances.

So, it turns out that the building has been struck by lightning.  Yeah. Lightning.  My first thought: Duuuuuuuude.   That’s it. Just, duuuuuuuude.

So I stand around under the supposedly on fire building – yeah, I didn’t even walk the 10 feet to the covered parking area – I’m just standing under the eave with drunk Duh-wayne and this other (really nice) guy who’s corralling drunk Duh-wayne (thank you really nice guy!!!) and trying to suss out what’s going on and when can we go back upstairs.

Then I thought about my cats.  Like 10 minutes later.  Please don’t flame me for being a bad cat mommy.  I didn’t think they were in any real danger, or I would have tried harder to get them out when I first heard the sirens.  Besides, I’m sure they ran under the bed when the building alarm went off.  Poor babies.  I’m sure I’ll have two very cozy bedmates tonight.   In any case, we stood around for 25-30 minutes – not really sure how long, truthfully, and the firemen gave us the all-clear to go back inside, and so I did the natural thing.  I came inside and called my friends – dude! my apartment building got struck by lightning!  Isn’t that crazy?!  (I call all my friends dude when I get worked up).  And I called my dad, and he had the typical parental moment of alarm, and then once he figured out that all was fine, he was all like… “that’s pretty trippy.  I’m going to bed now.” Low-key kinda guy, my dad.

Then I called my mom (I’d been trying to call her because I had other good news), and she had the typical parental moment of alarm, and then was like, ‘okay, if you’re fine, that’s good.  I’m glad noone was hurt.’

But isn’t that nuts?! My friend said ‘you have to blog this while you’re still excited about it – dude, your building got struck by lightning!  That doesn’t happen every day!’  And so here I am, blogging away.

Thus endeth the missive.  Thank you for reading.  I’m going to bed now.  The adrenaline rush has made me adequately tired.

Duuuuuuuuuude.

3 Responses to “This “duuuuude”, moment brought to you by: Lightning!”

  1. AlisonH said

    Oh. My. Goodness. Well, looks like your computer still works despite that hit!

    My brother’s apartment building was on fire once, his girlfriend drove up, saw, ducked into the building when the firemen weren’t looking, and ran in and tried to save him. Um, he wasn’t in there, and he was trying to call her at her place.

    They later got married. No other woman could ever possibly top that one, so, hey. Whaddyagonnado.

  2. JennyJake said

    Duuuuuuude, you still so win for Best Story of the Night.

  3. lise said

    Duuuuude – tooo cool. wow – that would have totally freaked me out! I don’t know if I would have ever gone to sleep – and yeah – I would have called all my friends too.
    Coool.

Leave a Reply

 
