Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

    20160719_225312

    20160719_225238

    20160719_225259

    Schachenmayr etc Bamboo+ Cotton (1)

    CEY Seedling Raspberry

    More Photos
  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,410 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

Short update on the deli:

Posted by Miss Knotty on April 9, 2007

The guy who sent over the sample tray called today (presumably to drum up business for himself?) and asked how I liked the samples.  I told him that I didn’t eat any, but that the people who did, thought they were good.  He got mad at me! He said ‘but the samples were for you‘.  In my head (not out loud), I thought, what difference does it make whether I like it if I’m ordering for other people in the office?  The important thing is whether they like it.  Notably, they said it was typical deli fare and nothing really to write home about. (I didn’t tell him that either).  But I’m told his pizza-by-the-slice is very good.  In either case, he got huffy with me because I told him that I didn’t try the samples (besides, I’m kind of a picky eater anyway, and there’s no guarantee that what I like would be what other people would like anyway.)   I told him that I was grateful for the samples and that I would be sure to keep his Deli in mind when we do have to do a catering order next, but that I didn’t know when that would be, thanks very much goodbye.

Can you believe he got huffy with me?  Dude.   Someone please explain this to me.  He’s trying to get me to support his business, and he’s. huffy. with. me.  Because I gave his samples out to people who would be eating them if a tray were to be ordered.  Someone.  Please. Explain. This.   I’m still racking my brain about it.

In other news, spinning mohair is fun, but it’s very sheddy.  I’m going to bed. Goodnight.

2 Responses to “Short update on the deli:”

  1. Punkin said

    Thank you for stopping by my knitting blog. I really appreciate that you took the time to write to me about miters and suggested a pattern. It was very generous of you to take the time. I have enjoyed visiting your blog.

    Thank you again.

    Punkin in Oregon

  2. AlisonH said

    You’re the only real person in the equation to him, the only one he interacted with and the only one with an actual name that he knows of, so you’re the one he was anticipating and making them for. But you’re right, it was beyond silly of him. I’m wondering if the huffiness was from him realizing later that he’d really made far too little for the size group you said you had, so he wanted them all to be for you as a way of justifying the amounts he sent over? Because for one person it would be generous, and he wants to see himself as generous? That’s how I can make any sense of it all, anyway.

Leave a Reply

 
