Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,470 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

Just a quick note before I go start/finish my Christmas shopping

Posted by Miss Knotty on December 22, 2006

I know I’ve been a lax-ish blogger, but with the absolute lack of knitting content (and photo content), I haven’t had much to say, and my personal life has been…. personal. What with the whole, I don’t know who all reads this blog, and once it’s up, it’s PUBLIC, I don’t want to say anything that might get me into trouble in Mordor real life. So I haven’t really been saying much of a significant nature. I do have some content, today though:

1) I haven’t yet started my Christmas shopping. It’s December 22. I realize this is folly. I don’t care.

2) My friendMartha (who is sadly blogless) has lent me a spinning wheel, a Lendrum foldy-uppy travel jobby. I now completely want to acquire a wheel for my place (and maybe some wheels). This is bound to become a companion hobby for my knitting. There’s just something about that rhythm, and working and knowing that I’m MAKING ONE-OF-A-KIND YARN. It’s just…. liberating or something. Anyway, pictures:
Wheel

Here is a pic of the bobbin I spun last night. I stopped and took a picture when I realized that my lovely reader(s) might want to see what I’ve been up to that has kept me away from you all, unfaithful creature that I am:
Spinning

The picture is a little blurry, but the color here is pretty true. It’s a dark blood red that phases into a fuschia with some white mixed in, and goes all the way to a black-purple. It’s stunning. I love it. The fiber is Targhee, which, if you’ve been with me a while, you’ll know I got for my birthday from my friend Erica, also a spinning enthusiast, who gave me this lovely top and a drop-spindle kit. I spindle spun some yarn too, and alls I’m saying is….. I love spinning. Love it.  Lurrrve it. There will be more of this in my future.  A wheel is now a carrot-on-a-stick for me to get out of debt.  There will be spinning in my future. Spinning and knitting.

There has been knitting in my past, the last few weeks, but nothing I can show, as (1) it was a gift for someone, and (2) I forgot to take a picture of it before I gave it to the girl who asked me to make them (they were a commissioned piece). Oops.   I hope they get enjoyed, though. I blended a few patterns and I think they came out looking pretty cunning, and they’re suitable for their intended purpose, so I’m really pleased.

Now: the sweater. Need to work on that. Oh yes I do. And I will. But for now I must away and actually face (gulp) the mall. I have a very short list, though, so I’m hoping that it will be relatively painless. You know, except for all the people.  Not a fan of the people. Plus I get SO selfish when I go gift shopping.  It’s dangerous for me.  Which is why I put it off.  And now I’m one of the people I don’t like – the last-minute shopper. Gag. At least I’m off work today and can do it, tomorrow will be the real nightmare.  That said, I’m off.  There may be adventures to tell soon though.  I have a couple of funny/weird stories to share, just have to commit them to computer screen.  As it is, this is too much like being at work, so I’m going to get off the computer and go do things I don’t get to do at work. Like go shopping.

Leave a Reply

 
