Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,472 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

Meme memeeemeememeeeee!

Posted by Miss Knotty on December 19, 2006

Okay, here’s the deal.

I lifted this meme from Alison over at spindyeknit (and the people that linked off of her).  Rather than tag people, I encourage you to lift this and put it on your own blog.  Please comment and let me know if you did decide to post it up, I’ll come and read yours. :)

Cheers!

Six  weird things about me.  Now, is this six things I consider weird, or six things that are out of the ordinary for a person my age, or for any person in general?

1) I love, love, LOVE swing music and jazz from the 20s, 30s, 40s… I’m a regular listener of AM 770, where the Legends Live, here in Dallas.  I also listen to modern singers who opt to sing standards. I prefer to listen to music that predates me by 40 years or more.

2) I listen to the lyrics of songs, and will not listen to a song over and over, even if it’s catchy or popular, if I feel that the lyrics do not espouse a positive message. Since most of what I listen to is songs from the 20s, 30s, & 40s, there are a lot of love songs.  I’m ok with love songs.

3)  I sing at least part of The Carpenter’s “Sing” every single day. This alternately irritates and entertains my best friend and cubemate, particularly because this song has an chorus that sticks in your head for days after the last time you heard it.  But I don’t care, because I sing it EVERY DAY. I love this song.

4) I do not watch any mainstream television at home. (I’ve seen some at other people’s houses, though).  I don’t have an antenna and cannot get ANY channels on my TV.  I have a TV, it’s very useful for watching videos. And I rent some tv shows on DVD and watch them (I love my Blockbuster Total Access) in a season-at-a-time format.  This blocks out large periods of knitting time.

5) I’m a 3rd Generation (that I know of) Native Texan, on my dad’s side. My family moved to Dallas when I was 5, and since that time I’ve lived in Dallas. I went to school in Dallas (Richardson Independent School District), I went to college in Dallas County Colleges (El Centro and Richland), and then to The University of Texas at Dallas.   Dallas is my hometown.

6) I painted my coffee table 2 years ago, and still have not completed painting the legs or put any kind of protective sealant on the table.  Still, if I could hang the table on the wall, I would. I LOVE that table.

So go forth, and meme-ify!  (and do please let me know if you decide to do the meme, I want to read weird things about YOU!)

One Response to “Meme memeeemeememeeeee!”

  1. AlisonH said

    All you have to do is mention that song, and now it’ll be playing in my head all night. It’s a skip cheerfully through the house type song.

    Another weird thing about me: in 26 years, my husband and I have never bought a new TV. We’ve been given a couple of old ones by people who couldn’t believe we didn’t have a TV, but when the last one died about 14 years ago we never bothered to replace it. Mostly they’d been used for parking the kids in front of Sesame Street while I cooked dinner.

Leave a Reply

 
