Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,431 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

Vital stats on Jaywalker

Posted by Miss Knotty on November 19, 2006

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Pattern: Jaywalker, by Grumperina (Please see last night’s post for the links – they’re in there, right under the picture. :) I’m feeling soooooo lazy tonight.

Knitted on Size 1 needles (I used straight DPNs on the first one and then reverted to my (preferred) 2 circs method for the second (once I got 2 pair of KnitPicks Sz 1 Circs – so worth the $8. Truly. The classic Circs by Knitpicks are WONDERFUL. That’s all I’ll say about that right now. WONDERFUL) Knitted using the larger size (84-stitch cast-on), to fit my size 8 1/2 to 9 foot. They fit pretty snugly, and they’re pretty stiff. I’m unaccustomed to this in socks, and I hope they’ll soften up some in their first wash (which will likely be tonight).

Yarn: Lion Brand Magic Stripes, in the Purple colorway. The darkest stripe is navy blue, not black (as it appears), with faux-Fair Isle detailing in the gray and white – I particularly like this because the effect worked up looking like little crosswalks. I am TRULY a geek. I am TRULY ok with this.

Anyway, I think they look pretty cunning.

So, I’m cooking Zatarain’s Jambalaya for dinner (and leftovers next week), and trying to figure out what I’m going to make next. I kind of want to do something Fair Isle. I’ve been bitten by this Fair Isle bug and I don’t rightly know what to do about it. Grumperina suggests a hat or headband. I’m kind of leaning toward something feltable, because that way, if it looks horrendous, at least it’ll be horrendous and smaller once it’s felted. (Hey, it’s an idea.).

Anyway, yes. I SHOULD be knitting on the cardi. And I will knit on the cardi tonight (Did anyone else just hear a musical cue from West Side story, just now? ‘The girl will knit her sweater, to-NIIIIIIGHT!’ Something like that? No? Just me? Oh, well.. Nevermind then.)

I really want to work on Eunny Jang’s Endpaper Mitts. I am drawn to them. They are beautiful! That’ll likely be a first Fair Isle wearable. I have the picture and pattern printed out on my desk and I keep looking at it. It, in turn, continues to encourage me to improve my mad Fair Isle skillz. Just like that. No really.

I’m also about to start the peas and carrots yarn for some new socks. I did a provisional cast on on sz 1s today and I’m…. thinking that I’m gonna bust out the sz 0s on this project…. I never thought I’d be saying this, but the 1s just seem too big for the yarn.. Too open. Is it me? Will the yarn get loftier when I wash it? I don’t know. Anyway, I’m gonna knit the socks on 0s. I’m cool like that, yo.

Have a good night, friends!

Oh, and the new James Bond movie is out. Go see it. :)

Leave a Reply

 
