Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,439 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

I am here! No, really!

Posted by Miss Knotty on September 28, 2006

Okay. Things are going good. I’m busy busy busy. I’m sorry I haven’t posted, my dear readers, but things have been kind of hectic, to put it mildly.

The guild is back up and going again for another year, and as co-VP of Membership, September is a busy time for me.

In other news, work is INSANE.

I haven’t finished anything knitty-wise since the blanket, and I’ve had a hard time picking up the pointy sticks since I finished Rambling Rows. Not because I don’t have a TON of stuff to finish, but just because I’ve been so, so busy, that by the end of the day, I don’t even have the energy to knit a row! Sad face.

I had intended for September to be a UFO-finishing month, so that I can get started on the Circumnavigated Sweater in October (which may not happen, as I’ve yet to even buy the yarn. I’m trying to work out a way to use some of what I have, but I don’t have enough of anything but Red Heart to knit a whole sweater out of, and if I knitted a sweater of out RH, I don’t know that I’d ever wear it. Red Heart is hard to wear. Maybe with about a gallon of fabric softener it might soften up. I’ll have to try something this weekend. Something that relates to knitting a swatch and washing it.

Something like that.

In other news I HAVE found some affordable yarns that I really like to look at and even some that feel really good, like

Caron Shadows: Simply soft, but with a little change: (can’t use the word ‘twist’ when it comes to yarn – it has a totally different meaning!) Three plies are solid colors, but the fourth ply is a variegated, so it has a really beautiful color-changing effect, even while still being primarily mono-chromatic. Which is really nice if you like a little color change, but don’t want to deal with something that might be too busy as a whole garment (not a sock, of course, but something like a cardigan.

also:
By Elann.com:
Highland Silk
Peruvian Sierra Aran
Elann.com Peruvian Quechua
Canapone

or

Knitpicks.com:
Mainline
Andean Treasure
Merino Style
Elegance
Andean Silk
Essential Solid

So it might appear that I haven’t made up my mind yet. If it appears that way, then it appears RIGHT!

Price point is a big issue for this sweater, for a couple reasons:
1) I’m po’ right now. Blah for po’ ness.
2) I don’t want to pour a LOT of money into my first sweater. If I make mistakes (which I likely will), I don’t want to be ruining a really good yarn by pulling it out and re-knitting and ripping and re-knitting until it’s a fuzzed-up travesty. So acrylic yarn or an inexpensive blend is a really good idea for me. Main Line by Knitpicks.com is $2.63 a ball, but it’s only 82 yards per ball, so a lot of yardage might end up being costly.

However:
I still want to knit a sweater that I’ll actually WEAR once all is said and done. I really like the feel of the Caron Shadows. I also like Caron Simply Soft. Yes, it’s acrylic. But it’s soft, and it DOES feel nice. Not nice like silk, of course, but nice, and it’s machine washable. Definitely a plus.

Anyway, I just found a website (Knitting-warehouse.com) that has a big selection of Caron Shadows, and it’s only $2.60 a ball (150 yds per ball). I’m all for that. I’ll swatch this weekend and we’ll find out if we have a winner (I bought one ball of this at Hobby Lobby b/c I like the look of it, and it has been a candidate for the sweater ever since I saw it at the store, and felt on it. Feels like Simply Soft, but it’s got some visual interest, and it’s not in a baby-color or in a psychedelic kid’s color. It’s subtle, but still in yarn that will be easily-manageable.

One Response to “I am here! No, really!”

  1. Haley said

    Hi Miss Knotty,
    thanks for the blog comments. i’m just now getting into the whole world of blogging and knitting online, but i love it so far!

    i do not have a blog button as of yet, but i will make it a priority! i didn’t even know what one was until i checked out your blog. :)

    have a great weekend!
    knit on dallas knitties!

Leave a Reply

 
