Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,431 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

I’m having a little greed-fest:

Posted by Miss Knotty on July 26, 2006

I want! I want I Want I WANT!!!

A spinning wheel (even though I don’t spin). – My Thursday night knitting buddy (and Wednesday night, for that matter, now), has one, and the PROCESS sounds absolutely wonderful.

Problem with that: When I get wrapped up in the process of something – the product goes right out the window – I don’t get concerned with how much I produce, or when, or how long it takes, and nothing that’s OTN gets any notice until my ‘process’ of whatever I’m interested in doing phase has burned itself out and I’m onto the next ‘phase’. Usually my phases are cyclical.

I get into a startitis phase, and start a bunch of projects.

Then I get into a product phase and work diligently on said projects until something is relatively near completion.

Then I get into a process phase and find some new technique I want to play with, something to get me out of the rut of whatever project I’ve been working diligently on – it’s a commercial break, usually. Something to just refresh my mind, something fun, some technique, something to remind me why I took up knitting (again) and why I enjoy it. I might also get another startitis phase at this point, eager to start a project using said technique or gadget or whatever that I’ve learned to make/use/produce/effect/whatever.

Then I’ll have a ‘memory’ phase – I’ll pull out abandoned projects (or at least projects abandoned owing to the intense heat and the strong desire on my part to not have an acrylic afghan (or anything) on my lap for any length of time), and get to work on them with a venegance (thus endeth the commercial break).

Then I’ll have finishitis all over the place – I want to finish something. Anything. A bootee, a sock, a hat, something I have on needles that’s been in progress for a while, or maybe not for a while. Maybe something I can start and finish in an evening, just so I can say I finished SOMETHING. (Like a washcloth. don’t laugh, I’ve done this. It works. and it helps quell the burning need sometimes to just have SOMETHING off the needles. Even if it wasn’t that shawl, or those socks, or whatever.

Then I’ll have another static phase, sometimes poring through magazines looking for inspiration (which is kind of an ongoing thing for me – I enjoy this in any phase, typically. Something to whet my artistic appetite, some garment or piece that is interesting or challenging, or a yarn I like or a color I like. Anything that gets the creative juices flowing.

Then – startitis. Lather, rinse, repeat.

But if I get into spinning (even if it’s only for a commercial break phase – I’m concerned that I’ll spend a bunch of money on that and forget what’s currently important to me (for a short term goal)- getting a digital camera. So I’m going to hold off and not think about spinning for awhile. I’ll just hold tight and try to manage. I mean, if I never start it, I won’t know what I’m missing, right? (Except for all the knit bloggers going on and on about how great spinning is, and how much they enjoy spinning their own fiber and how cool it is to be able to create something totally unique by the skein, and what pleasure they get from it, and….. In the immortal words of Yul Brynner, “Et cetera, et cetera, et cetera!”

Thus endeth the spinning talk.

I still want a Pentax Optio S4 digital camera. I’m still haunting ebay looking for a cheapish one. I still haven’t found a cheapish enough one. I would have thought that a 4MP digital camera would have dropped in price – maybe not substantially, but at least some, with the release of 5, 6, 7, and 8 MP models. You’d think the 4 MP ones were hard to sell with all the new technology and crystal clear this and voice-recording -that.

But while the resale value seems to have gone down somewhat – not much, but somewhat – the MSRP is still WAY up there.

Weird, huh?

Leave a Reply

 
