Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,487 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

Things

Posted by Miss Knotty on July 3, 2006

Things that are delicious:
40 Cloves and a Chicken, by Alton Brown, from the Food Network (Good Eats)
Firecrackers (recipe by my grandmother) – see below
Black Cherry Kool-Aid – Yes I love it. Don’t tell me how bad it is for me. Yes, I read the podcasts about DYEING yarn with kool-aid, yes I still drink it. Shut. Up.

Things that are going on:
the Fourth of July – Woot! A Day (and a half) off work! It’s heaven!

Things that are maddening:
My sinuses are still a mess. Don’t ask. It’s as gross as it sounds

Things that are fun!:
I knitted a couple coasters many, many months ago and my Thursday Night Knitting Buddy took them from me and felted them when I went over and had dinner with her and her DH on Saturday night. It was… scary at first, and then no big deal. It fascinated me. The felting was loose, so it may be put into MY washing machine for another cycle. Maybe. I don’t know if I’m bold enough. But I might be. I really want to use them, so I’m going to get bold enough here soon.

Things that are nerdly:
I have (yet again) too many projects on needles. But (yet again), that’s okay. I’m gonna take a (brief) hiatus from World of Warcraft and really crack down on the baby gift project knitting. I need to put the border on the blankie, and It’s gonna take a while – 700-stitch rounds. Suck.
I have fallen deeply in love with a tauren warrior named Leyotamieux. She’s a warrior woman – a battle B**ch! Wee hee! I started her last week and she’s already up to a lvl 15 – rock! A rockin’ hard-core cow, if ever there was one. I’m just sayin.

Things that are ongoing:
I’m still reading Job. He’s still railing and frustrated. It’s still depressing. But I’m still reading.

The afore-mentioned recipe: My grandmother gave me this recipe. I don’t know where she got it from, or if she came up with it on her own – she’s crafty that way.

Firecrackers!
Full Batch:
1 Box Saltines (of your choice)
1 packet Hidden Valley Ranch Dip Mix
1-2 T. Crushed Red Pepper Flakes*
3/4 c. (6 oz) vegetable oil.

You’ll also need a 1-gallon zippered freezer bag

Half batch:
2 stacks saltine crackers (of your choice) (1/2 box)
1 1/2 T (or 1/2 packet) Hidden Valley Ranch Dip Mix**
1 T. Crushed Red Pepper Flakes*
3 oz vegetable oil (if you use a glass measuring cup, there’s a line on the side that indicates 3 oz)

* Your heat preference comes into play here. If you like it hot, use more. If you don’t like it, use less.

**(I buy my HVR mix in large quantities, so I use tablespoon measurements for my ranch mix. A packet of Hidden Valley Ranch has about 3 Tablespoons. Use your judgment.)

Put the crackers dry in the zippered bag. In the measuring cup, mix oil, Hidden Valley Ranch Dip Mix, and Crushed Red Pepper Flakes. Stir until mixed. Pour contents over crackers
Seal bag and shake gently, being careful not to break up crackers too much. Once crackers are coated, let sit for about a day, flipping over every hour or so to get the oil well-distributed.

Enjoy!
P.S. Seal in airtight container to store. Stale firecrackers = no bueno.

Leave a Reply

 
