Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,439 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

Just a short entry today…

Posted by Miss Knotty on May 18, 2006

I made my decision and decided not to jump on the Quixtar bandwagon. After some reading, some research and some prayer, I feel that this is not a good time for me to start a business of any kind, and I was convicted that I need to learn more about accounting and finance, both for my own fiscal wellness over the long term, and because I love learning, especially hard stuff.

So I’m getting in touch with an accountant friend-of-a-friend and asking her for some recommendations by way of finance primers or basic accounting texts so that I can learn about managing money so that I can be a better steward of a) what God has given me, and b) what God will give me in the future. I’ve been getting really down because I keep running into the same problem of more-month-than paycheck, and I want to break that cycle. Now having a roommate has made a big difference, because some of my expenses are halved, but this has not helped me build savings yet. So I’m going to get to work on getting my financial house in order, with God’s help (and my church’s). I’m doing the Money Matters seminar this Sunday at Prestonwood – it’s a free seminar with a bunch of workshops to get an overview and learn to be better stewards.

I’ve started working out! Go me! This is pretty tough for me, as I don’t much care for exercising, I find that it generally wears me out and I have a really hard time seeing the results of it (although I’m told this will improve other areas of my life). So I’m working out three days a week with a buddy at the gym at Prestonwood, which is awesome. I’m feeling good about this. I just have to get outta bed. Which I don’t care for. But that’s okay. I’ll do it. Because I said I would. and maybe I’ll get to like it. Maybe. But I’m DEFINITELY still going to sleep in on Saturdays.

On the needles: Rambling Rows: Square 36 of 55! This is a big square, 24 stitches on each side of the stitch marker, and decreased down and down and down to two. This particular square is blue.

Jaywalker sock 2 of 2 – still working the heel flap, got about 6 more rows to do on this one, then the short row heel and then down the foot. I’m never knitting these socks on sz 1 needles again. It’s going to be a US2 or bigger. Truly. They’re just so tight – they make my hands hurt. Masochism knitting ain’t my bag, baby.

Toe up sock on 2 circs 1 of 2 – I decided to do a little lace pattern (8-row repeat) – I’m 1 repeat in, about 5 to go, I think. Or however long I feel like making it. I’m just going to run the ball out, I think. The second sock is a second ball. These socks go SO FAST. I like this method best, I think.

To sum up, here’s a proverb my dad gave me. I don’t know if it’s new or his original, or what, but it really struck a chord with me in a major way. So I’m going to share it with you.

“If your outgo exceeds your income, then your upkeep will be your downfall” – my daddy.

Have a great weekend!

2 Responses to “Just a short entry today…”

  1. I think you made a good decision about the cosmetic company. I was involved in a cosmetic direct sale company. It was fun for me because of the social aspect of getting together with other women and having fun “girl time”. But unless you have a really good “Salesperson” personality, you probably won’t profit much in sales. IMHO!!
    Congrats on working out! I’ve been trying to stick to it for about 2 months now. It’s hard for me too.

  2. Wendy said

    I’m proud of you, hon, for getting back to exercisng. Believe me, I still struggle to get my lazy behind out of bed and go to the gym for an hour. But, wow, I can already tell a difference in my mood and the way I feel. I have a lot more energy and sleep better. So, keep it up! I have to keep reminding myself too that I didn’t gain all this weight overnight so it’s not gonna all come off overnight. God will bless your faithfulness and obedience to take care of his beautiful “temple.”
    “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.”
    Grace and peace, chica!

Leave a Reply

 
