Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,483 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

“Do? What could you possibly have had to do?”

Posted by Miss Knotty on April 27, 2006

“Quite a lot, actually”.
Ms. Anne Elliot’s response to her querulous sister Mary in Persuasion (Jane Austen) pretty much covers my last few days. I went & visited with my Mema & Pepa at my parents’ house on Tuesday night (they were to depart Weds Morning), then church last night, and I’m meeting up with my knitting buddy at Starbucks this evening for our bi-weekly knitting shenanigans – I’m excited to show her my new knitting purchase, The Knitting Directory by Alison Jenkins, which I picked up at B & N for a paltry $6.98 from the clearance book section – WOOT! It has all kinds of handy info in there from start to finish, a small stitch dictionary and knitting techniques, and even a fill-in-the-blank sweater pattern. If you’re looking for a gift for a new knitter, this is a handy little resource, I must say.

I also picked up a copy of the Vogue Knitting that’s on the rack right now for half the cover price at the aptly-named Half Price Books, and also another knitting magazine, the name of which escapes me.

There’s a knitting magazine from the UK (I think it’s called Knitting) with a Sirdar Loopa Jr. as an incentive to buy in there, but there is THE CUTEST little onesy-suit thing that looks like a puppy for a baby – seriously way cute. That is, if I knitted for babies, which I don’t generally. Still, I’ve been working on Mrs. Younger Brother’s Baby Blanket – I’m up to square 22 – they do go fast, the little squares. It’s just that they’re all garter stitch, you know? and a million and one squares of straight knit can be tough on the hands. Especially if you factor in the fact that I often rest from the blanket with a sock – all knit in the round – CAN I JUST DO ONE PURL STITCH EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE???? I’m going to have to start something in garter stitch purlwise, just to ease my poor hands – they’re gonna get knitted out – which simply WON’T do. Maybe I’ll start a lacy something-or other that is purled back on the wrong side. That’ll show the other projects (which are ALL garter-stitched or knit in the round, now that I think about it, which, ultimately is EXACTLY THE SAME THING…. Hmm. What am I doing to myself?!)

So I’m jonesin’ to purl, lately. Weird, I know. We’ll see how that resolves.

So I knitted Tuesday night at Mom’s, and also last evening before church, and I’ll likely be knitting this evening too. There’s a trend here.

Anyway here’s the needles update:

On the needles:
Sock (Short Rowed-toe-up) on 2 circulars, US 2 in Bernat Sox!
Jaywalker sock 2 on US 1 Susan Bates DPNs (and a good thing, too – they’re bending – this is a TIGHT knit! The next ones (if there are next ones – I’m not very faithful to patterns, once I’ve done it once, I’m eager to do something different) are gonna be on US 3s, mark my words.)
Vicki Doily on US 2 Brittany DPNs in cotton thread
Rambling Rows baby afghan – up to square 22
Muppet Scarf – 1/2way through another short row triangle
I think that’s ACTUALLY all I have on the needles right now! Good gracious!

Once I finish the socks, I’m going to start the Seraphim Shawl – I got gauge after blocking on a US 7 (2 sizes bigger than the pattern needle recommendation – tight knitter much?) with sport weight yarn from Knitpicks.

I also want to knit a felted purse at some point. As you can tell, it’s SOOO high on my list of priorities.

In other news, I’m getting a couch! Woo hoo!!! I haven’t had one in a while now, so I’m looking forward to that.

That’s all for now!
_______________________________
A verse for today:

Let no evil talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for edifying, as fits the occasion, that it may impart grace to those who hear.

Ephesians 4:29

2 Responses to ““Do? What could you possibly have had to do?””

  1. Titine24 said

    Thanks for the verse — I think I needed that today! I absolutely HATE to purl, to the point where I learned how to knit the stitches from the Right Hand Needle back onto the Left Hand needle so I wouldn’t have to turn the whole thing over to purl back to the first knit stitich again. One thing purling is useful for, though, is to find my place in my reading, because it is a long while before I get back to the knit side. I use a lead book weight, which also could serve as a “cosh” if anyone scares me on purpose while I am concentrating. My family knows better.

  2. Jen said

    Ooh, I’ll have to check out Half Price Books. And the books on my blog are from the Lewisville and Irving Libraries- so don’t blame me! ;)
    Thanks for the nice comment and the dessert bar recipe is up on my blog. :)

Leave a Reply

 
