Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,487 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

A week of Weeks

Posted by Miss Knotty on March 17, 2006

This week has alternately flown and dragged by. It dragged when I wanted it to fly, and it FLEW when I just needed a couple minutes, okay? It was nutz at the office. Nutz. That’s the best I can describe it. The week before a vacation inevitably is, I know, but still. Nutz.

Yes, you heard me. The workie is taking a breakie. I’ll be off work for a glorious week, doing – Things that don’t require me to think about drafting letters, pleadings, reading The Texas Rules of Civil Procedure or trying to figure out what on earth form to use for this totally new-to-me pleading. Oh, and Local Rules. Don’t even get me STARTED ON l o c a l rules. (If you know what I just did to that phrase, I think you might realize just what kind of time I have on my hands.).

Okay, so I’m a goon. Knitting Content!!!

I went to S&B on Thursday Night at PassionKnits in Snider Plaza as a brain-break from work for just a little while. The Whimsy needs a brain break every once in a while. I left work at 6 and came back at 8:30 and then worked until midnight. I’m such a slave to the job. But you know? I got work done. Good work. Loooots of work. So I can’t complain, really. It’s amazing how much you can get done when the phone isn’t ringing off the HOOK. I can’t even tell you.

Okay yeah, so that’s my busy week. Back to Knitting Content! s&b Thurs

So I went and met some neat ladies – Sarah, May, and …. Grace? Also a lady named Susan was there (but is not pictured) and also another lady who wasn’t knitting and I unfortunately didn’t get her name, but she left with Sarah. I think they’re roommates, maybe… Not sure. If you read me and I don’t know it, please feel free to correct my name list. I hope I have your names right, I feel just awful that I didn’t write them down. May brought some swiss cheese and water crackers. Yum! I loves me some cheese. :) It was good. Thanks May!

So I saddown and knitted for an hour – they were all pretty jazzed about my socks. Ms. May was floored by the idea of knitting socks, she thought it was groovy cool. I just love my Jaywalkers.

Oh, and I’ve bought sz 5 (3.75 mm)-29 in circular needle for the Serahphim Shawl pattern I bought. I’m going to get some fiery red yarn and knit it in those colors. I’m hoping I’ll find a really fiery handpaint while I’m on vacation. I’m also on the lookout for
1) Neato Sock yarn
2) Yarn to felt some felted bags. Namely, the buttonhole bag. But maybe some others too.
3) a 3sts/in pattern to knit up the Bravo yarn. I have 1008 yards, so I think it’ll make a nice shawl, but i’m starting to lean a little toward a shrug. I’ll have to ask around and find out if such a thing is possible. I mean, the yarn is 3 sts/in on a sz 11 needle. So yeah. Bulky weight. Anyway, so that’s what I’ve been working on this week. I’ve spent woefully little time in the Word, although I did hear a great sermon on the Prodigal Son (Luke 15:11-31) on Wednesday, which was really good, and I got a bible verse in my e-mail this morning that I printed out and have been reading all day:

“For as the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and return not thither but water the earth, making it bring forth and sprout, giving seed to the sower and bread to the eater, so shall my word be that goes forth from my mouth; it shall not return to me empty, but it shall accomplish that which I purupose, and prosper in the thing for which I sent it. ” Isaiah 55:10-11

I (unfortunately) don’t know the context around which these words are spoken, but the bit at the end just got me and I had to read it over and over. “So shall my word be that goes forth from my mouth; it shall not return to me empty, but it shall accomplish that which I purpose, and prosper in the thing for which I sent it”. “But it shall accomplish that which I purpose.” Can you imagine? I mean, it works. The Word of God accomplishes that which it purposes, nothing less. Ever. It just takes me aback sometimes. I have to stop and say, wowee. God has plans for everything I do. He knows and has known everything going on since…. forever. His Word is ultimate. And no word is purposeless. Ever. Just boggles the mind a little bit.

One Response to “A week of Weeks”

  1. I agree, it is overwhelming to try to understand the “completeness” of God’s plan. I also get overwhelmed thinking of Heaven and how it will be. But when I try to reason it all out in my tiny brain, I just tell myself “It is perfect (His plan & heaven), we won’t understand it all until we get there, so just accept it”.

    Also, I love the jaywalking photos, great coordination you have! I don’t think I could get my leg up on my desk, much less balance it while taking a photo.

    :)
    April (faraboverubies)

Leave a Reply

 
