Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,483 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

sickly miss and fo’s

Posted by Miss Knotty on February 7, 2006

Okay so I’m sick. I have a sinus infection. Ouch. Not much likin’ that. I stayed home from work today because the pain was so intense that I couldn’t really stand to look at a computer. This is not from an ennui-laced kind of “I simply cahn’t staaaaaahnd to look at a computah for even a moment mooh” kind of ‘can’t stand’. it’s more of an “Owie owie light hurts” kind of ‘can’t stand’. So I stayed home from work. I found a new doctor on the new insurance and went. She gave me meddies. Huzzah. It was as I expected, a sinus infection, but she also made me do the unthinkable. I’ve scheduled a well-woman physical and gyno exam. Ew. Ew EWEWEWEWWWWW! I’ve managed to avoid one of these for almost 2 years. See, everything down there is working fiiiiiine, so why do I need to have somebody peep at it? If all the plumbing works, then why do I need a plumber? This is my mentality. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. But noooo, they say I HAVE to have one. like HAVE to. So it’s scheduled. March 1. The day after Mardi Gras. Ash Wednesday. Fun. So I can begin lent with a poky proddy session. Ooooh joy.

Oh well.

In other news, Branching out is off the needles!!! I have a few ends to weave in, and I’m going to wash and block it this weekend at mom’s (she has a room that’s no-cat’s-land that I can lay it out and pin it down with no fear of feline ‘assistance’ – I don’t have that luxury here at casa k-wet. So it’s off I go to do that.

Still on the needles, though:
The socks that time forgot – er, I mean the very late Christmas socks for friendo – I’ve got the second sock on the needles now – sock 1 done.
The fraggle-rock multi-directional scarf
Charity homespun scarf
Soon to be on the needles sometime someday maybe:
The John Anderson Kilt Hose

and maybe a washcloth. Washcloths are great knitting-for-practice pieces – I learned to cable without a cable needle on a washcloth, and that lace isn’t THAT hard on a washcloth (I say this. Branching Out was a challenge, so please don’t think I boast – I don’t think that it’s EASY. I just don’t think it’s as hard as I once thought it was. It’s an iota less hard. I’m going to learn how to knit great large shawls of lace though. Because it inspires me. I want to knit a shetland lace wedding ring shawl. I don’t know if I ever will, but I want to.

One Response to “sickly miss and fo’s”

  1. Titine24 said

    So sorry for you – are you sure you only have a sinus headache? It sounds like a migraine to me. As bad as it sounds, sniffing in salt water, or even Hydrogen Peroxide (my children call it “doctor water”) will sizzle away the inflammation, and not leave little “live embers” to start up again once the antibiotics depart. Your knitting goals sound attractive and admirable in challenge. I wish I had some quiet time to count lace stitches. My ittybittyknitter daughter really appreciated your comment on “her” blog, and she just said she thinks you are nice.–>

Leave a Reply

 
