Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

    20160719_225312

    20160719_225238

    20160719_225259

    Schachenmayr etc Bamboo+ Cotton (1)

    CEY Seedling Raspberry

    More Photos
  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 17,410 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

Merry Christmas!

Posted by Miss Knotty on December 25, 2005

For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace. Of the increase of his government and peace there will be no end. He will reign on David’s throne and over his kingdom, establishing it and upholding it with justice and righteousness from thet time on and forever. The zeal of the Lord Almighty will accomplish this. Isa. 9:6-7

Happy Birthday, Jesus, and Merry Christmas to all!

So here I am on Christmas morning, writing an entry to you all from Beautiful Terlingua, TX, where my grandparents live. The sunrise this morning was spectacular. No photographic image could do it justice, and as soon as you think to take a picture, the color scheme has changed altogether and you have another masterpiece to look at. It really brings to mind the hymn, ‘How Great Thou Art’. God’s majesty is just written all over this place. It’s wild land, sure, but it’s also amazing. Not to mention the house my grandfather has built out here. It’s a wonder of engineering. I wanna live here. Ooooh I wanna live here. All I’d need would be a DSL or satellite connection and I’d be all set. They have satellite TV, but I watch so little tv that it wouldn’t much matter. I would wire the internet through the computer and use the tv screen as my monitor, and surf from the couch (which would do WONDERS for my weight – How it would rise!!!), and sprinkle in a good deal of roaming and hiking, and working on art pieces – there is such a wild little arts community here. It’s just amazing. There’s a little quilt shop here, we went there yesterday and slobbered all over the stuff. Mom got this gorgeous fetish necklace and also some placemats that were handwoven by Mema’s good friend from Abilene (who has Ms. Marguerite sell her work on consignment, I guess), and she does hand weaving, and very fine work at that. My gramma has SUCH COOL FRIENDS!!!!

Last night my older brother talked my granddad into telling us stories of his life, and he told us such amazing things – he’s been an engineer nearly all his life. Of course, that’s evident to anyone who’s been to his house – there are little touches of absolute brilliance everywhere, on top of the craftsmanship and artistic beauty of everything. It’s all just amazing. He built this house, really from the ground up, with most of his vision gone (he has macular degeneration (sp?) and crafted so much of it by hand, with my father, and uncle and brothers’ help, and it’s just so COOL here. He’s always been an artist. He did stained glass works when he was younger and they lived out on the farm. My mom has a tree of life piece that he did in her kitchen. It’s just amazing by itself, and even moreso when the light shines through it. It’s like being in one of the old european churches. My gramma here has a kokopelli (sp?) that he did and when the light shines through it, it just inspires awe – it almost seems to be ablaze. He does woodworking too, and built a number of cabinets and shelving units and stuff, mostly with throw-away wood from other projects, but with his own touches. He would build the cabinet and then tile the tops with pretty tiles from Mexico or other places. The tilework in this house…. It should be another entry altogether. And the place is custom planned, and the tile floors have hot water circulating underneath them so you can go barefoot in the dead of winter and still have warm feet. It’s so awesome. Really. Sooooo awesome. I love my Pepa. I’m sorry that he’s poorly and I’m so grateful to God that he’s been able to stay around long enough for me to really get to know him and to appreciate his mastery before he’s gone. I’m sure there’s no way that I’ll ever fully know the extent of his brilliance, although I can look at his sons, my dad and uncle and know what an unbelievable craftsman Pepa is; he’s given my daddy the talent for engineering and figuring out little conveniences and adding them into different things, and the same for Uncle G. All told, it’s pretty amazing. I just love his works. He’s awesome. I hope I can marry a man like my granddaddy and my dad, an engineer like that. He just blends artistry and mastery and his own little touches into everything he does and truly makes it his own. Even something like a storage pantry in the kitchen, he can make into a masterpiece all its own that’s both functional and beautiful. I wish I could live out here. I do. It’s just so amazing. I fear that I may have too much of the city in me to appreciate it though. But maybe once I get out of debt and really get an idea about what I want to do with the rest of my life (as if that’ll ever happen), I can come down here and live for a while and see if it’s the thing for me, or if I could make a life down here. Well that’s something. I sit here and wonder about whether I could make a life for myself without the ‘modern (in)conveniences’, and not without a little self-disgust. My grandparents’ house here is absolutely breathtaking. It’s an amazing work of art, and grander than anything I could think to have in Locality, and I think I couldn’t make it here?! I would be living it UP to be living here. I mean, seriously!! I would be moving up in the world to be able to live here, not moving down!!! Feh. What on earth?! We can just say here that I’m a goober. I’ll have to pray about this, and find out what God has to tell me, if being in this land is what He means to happen in my life, even for a time. If I’m meant to live here in this wonderland. Aah. How I’d love it. if I could make a life down here, in a beautiful house with a beautiful country wrapped around me.

More soon.

Leave a Reply

 
