Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

    20140628_161609

    20140628_161617

    20140521_213229

    20140429_222831

    Made my bouquet!

    More Photos
  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 16,755 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

AlpacaFarmGirl’s Fiber Arts Fridays!

Posted by Miss Knotty on June 20, 2009

This is a picture-heavy post. Fair warning.

I’ve jumped on the bandwagon of AlpacaFarm Girl’s Fiber Arts Fridays, despite the fact that it’s Saturday as I write this.

Anyway, I had some fiber arts on my Thursday blog, I think.  I hope that counts.

I’m sitting here listening to the new episode of limenviolet (link goes to their shownotes blog), enjoying hearing about Wollmeise and yarn clubs and Exploding Whales, and I got to thinking about MY Wollmeise experience, which I haven’t written about here, being a total rude person. My Plurk friend Maya, aka WillTravel4Yarn had a minor catastrophe with her Wollmeise – her dog Cuqui decided that a freshly wound ball of absolutely gorgeous Wollmeise was a great toy, and did some creative deconstruction- there’s a pic and the tale on her Blog.  The ball looked like this before we started working on it at Craft Circle of Doom:
Wollmeise Tragedy - natural light

It arrived at my place in time for me to take it to Craft Circle of Doom, where I found out that I’m surrounded by knot-untangling enthusiasts. First it was just me, then it was Lara and me, until finally at one point I think there were 4 of us working on it, and I think it took us about 2.5 hours to get it all untangled, so I even still got some knitting in, which is cool.

It ended up looking like this:
Wollmeise Saved

She had to cut it to get it off her bag to send it to me, so there was a little bit of loss, but only a very little. I wound it up on my ball winder to send it back to her.

Here it is before it headed back home to her:
Wollmeise recaked

Anyway, for my trouble (which was totally nonexistent – I really DO love untangling knots – I love the feeling of triumph when I undo a nasty snarl. I’m weird. I know. I’ve reconciled myself to it. But I’m not alone in my weirdness and that really makes all the difference.), she sent me my own ball of Wollmeise!! OMG! OOOOMMMMGGGG!!
So now I’m the proud owner of a ball of Wollemeise yarn. I don’t think I’m going to make socks from it, though. I think I might make a scarf/hat combo or something, because it’s SUCH beautiful colors and I LOVE it.
Wollmeise 150g - Spring Fling 08

So that’s the story. I’m gonna hit the couch – I’ve finished the 9th repeat of my Fountain Pen Shawl and that means that I only have 16 rows of Lace Body and then 24 rows of border and I’m finished! Finished!!!! Well, mostly.  Then there’s weaving in ends and blocking, but that’s okay.  I kind of enjoy that bit.  By the by, the completion of the 9th repeat puts me at 80.4% finished, which is a nice feeling.

On the finishing front, I ‘finished’ some yarn last night, soaking the wool, giving it a thwack and letting it dry – it’s still drying. I think it’ll be dry this afternoon, which is pleasing to me.  I don’t know what yardage I have yet, and I have no idea what I’m going to do with it. Maybe I’ll make another Urchin beret – they don’t require much in the way of yardage and I love, love LOVE the one I made with my Oriental Poppies handspun. Here’s the sunlit view:
Handspun 6.19.09 and one showing the relative thickness against my fingers:
Yarn size

It’s these gorgeous rich chocolate brown and plummy purples going up to this very light rosy pink.  I’m not a huge fan of these colors but they really came together prettily, and I like the resulting yarn.  We’ll see what it ends up being.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

