Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

    Made my bouquet!









    More Photos
  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 16,618 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

What is with me and the Kool Aid these days?!: Wherein the blogger confesses to jumping on still MORE bandwagons, but in kind of an embarrassing way.

Posted by Miss Knotty on May 19, 2009

Okay, so I’ve hopped on a few more bandwagons.  The first and foremost being Twilight, author Stephenie Meyer’s bestselling series about vegetarian sparkly vampires.  Yes, I know, they’re written for teenagers, and I had more than one WTF?! moment while reading the saga.  It’s fluffy and mindless, which I must say is a major departure from the other book I’m currently reading: Nathaniel Hawthorne’s The Scarlet Letter, which I’m reading along with listening to the current installments of Craft Lit: The Podcast for crafters who love books.  (I went ahead and bought the book and am reading ahead – I’m getting SO much more out of this book reading it as an adult than I did as a bored high school student.  And the movie versions just…. sucked. Gary Oldman or no Gary Oldman, the movie versions sucked.)  I also picked up a a biography about the life of Anne Bradstreet (The book is called Mistress Bradstreet: The Untold Life of America’s First Poet), who was a puritan poetess from the earliest days of America’s colonization in New England. I got a little bit into this book and put it down, preferring to finish The Scarlet Letter first – too many books all at once is not good for my brains.  Add to that that I’m only halfway finished with The Count of Monte Cristo (which I’m enjoying, but it’s really kind of a downer, all this plotting and revenge and rage, so I have to read and then put it down and read something light and fluffy, like Elizabeth Lowell or something else light, and then come back to it.)

Fear not, I’m knitting too.  I haven’t finished anything recently, but I did end up frogging my Bluebonnet Cardigan (sadness), and I picked up an absolutely adorable amigurumi book called Crobots, by Nelly Pailloux, and I picked up the hooks again in an effort to improve my mad crochet skillz and make some cute little dangerous-for-small-children toys.  I heart amigurumi (ding!).  Truly I do. I just wish I was better at it.  Well, practice helps with that.  I’ll be practicing some, you betcha.

I picked up some socks that have been languishing in the bottom of my knitting bag, and I’m up to the calf increases now – the yarn just goes ON and ON!! (Yarn is ONline Linie Supersocke) So I’ll be knitting and knitting.  Once I got into increasing for the calf, though, the ball started looking a little smaller.  So I can tell that I’m finally making progress, which is cool (I should be – they’re toe up and I’m doing calf increases).  I’m knitting both at once (on matching sets of DPNs), from either end of the ball, so that’s kinda fun, and I’m looking forward to having some nice knee socks once I’m all finished.

I’m also working on the Fountain Pen Shawl, from the 2009 Spring Interweave Knits, in laceweight, colorway Parisian Nights from HandpaintedYarn.com (I note on her site that that colorway is no longer available, but it’s a really pretty violet purple, with splotches of ligher purple and almost a black-purple.  I lurrrrrve it.) It’s in Time Out right now, because my nupps and my count is not cooperating, and it’s ticking me off.  I’m trying to either figure out the problem or run a lifeline and rip back.  I just completed my fifth repeat of Chart 2 and I’d really hate to have to rip out a whole pattern repeat, but it’ll make me crazy if I don’t fix it.  I don’t look forward to ripping this yarn, though – it’s a 100% wool laceweight singles yarn, and it’s kinda grabby, so I don’t know how well it will rip back.

In still more news, I started a new pullover, the Apres Surf Hoodie, from the Summer 2008 issue of Interweave Knits – I didn’t originally love this pattern, but I saw an Elann.com ad (for their Peruvian Baby Cashmere) knitted in this pattern, and I fell instantly and irrevocably in love.  So I threw down the $60-something dollars (hey, 60 bucks for a cashmere sweater isn’t too bad, right?  The yarn was on sale.), swatched my fool head off, and cast this baby on.  Then I came to my senses and realized that the size I wanted to make would not fit me, and so I ripped out and re-cast on with the correct number of stitches for a woman of my…. shall we say, not insubstantial? frame.  So now I’m knitting along on the mumblemumblemumble inch size and I’m 2 rows away from where I’ll start my waist shaping.  So that’s moving nicely along.  Oh, the color I got was Cedar – it’s a beautiful grey-green that I think will really flatter.  Pictures soon, when I remember to take them.

I also started an “earth day” project of sorts – I’m using yarn made from plastic grocery bags to crochet a tote to carry to the grocery store, instead of using grocery store bags.  I have the base done, and it would appear that I have lost my big-a#% hook that I need for this project (it’s a p or a q size), so I’m going to have to find it before I can continue crocheting this piece.  Mr. Man looked on in dismay while I hooked away, though.  He said, (in rather a disgusted tone, I might add) that “it’s kinda crazy that you’re sitting here looking at all this beautiful, soft, fluffy yarn, and you’re knitting with plastic bags.”  I did note the confusion in his voice, and he’s generally very understanding and Awesome with a capital A, and I totally get his confusion, if not his dismay. So, I give you, my devoted reader(s), my logic: I wanted to make something quick (crochet is much quicker than knitting), sturdy (crochet is much sturdier than knitting, particularly with a medium like plastic bags, which can be very flimsy in one layer, but a bit more substantial when twisted up and around themselves into a double-layer fabric), and useful – a grocery tote I don’t have to worry about ruining with food leakage is useful, no two ways about it.  So that’s the method to my madness.  Although I’m still missing my big hook, and I can’t continue the project until I locate it, which is kind of frustrating.

Anyway, I think that about sums up my projectyness for the mo’.  I’ll post some pictures when I get some good shots of the projects in daylight.  Maybe I’ll come home tomorrow and do just that.

By the by, sorry about the crazy amount of linkage in this post – I was in a mood, and I realized that a WHOLE BUNCH of the stuff I was working on could be linked, and since I’m being such a slacker about pictures, I figured I should do something at least a LITTLE interesting.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

