Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

    20140628_161609

    20140628_161617

    20140521_213229

    20140429_222831

    Made my bouquet!

    More Photos
  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 16,826 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

Oh dear. Ooooh dear. Oh my.

Posted by Miss Knotty on April 6, 2009

I’ve never baked a ham.  I’ve also never baked a turkey*, or a chicken, or a roast**.  But I have baked a ham now.  I mentioned to Mr. Man recently that I wanted to bake a ham, but didn’t know how. Mr. Man was endearingly encouraging, and I bought a ham, and stored it in the fridge.  And looked at it. And thought/worried about how to cook it, and looked at it some more.  And then got a little worried about it, because it was just sitting there and I didn’t want to agonize over it until it went bad and was unfit for cooking.  (Don’t worry, it’s not like it was in there since Christmas – really, it was just a week.) Well, Mr. Man mentioned that he had had a ham once that was glazed with Dr. Pepper, and that piqued my interest.  So I started to Google.  And thus did I Google all one Saturday when I should have been cleaning, and found a recipe I found suitable for the cause of Dr. Pepper Ham. Now, mind, I didn’t buy a pre-cooked, spiral cut honey baked ham jobbie.  Oh no I did not.  (Those are expensive.)  I bought a ‘you have to cook it at 325 for 25 minutes per pound’ Ham.  And so I did.  I baked it, and I basted it with Dr. Pepper every 30 minutes for 2.5 hours, and then I glazed it with the actual glaze that I made with Pineapple-orange juice, brown sugar, dijon mustard and Dr. Pepper, and then I basted some more and cooked it for about another hour.   And then I got it out of the oven, stuffed it in the fridge and went to bed – it was 11 o’clock!!

Now, here’s something notable – in addition to never having baked a ham, I’ve also never carved one. (Wouldn’t have guessed that one, eh?!) Anyway, I looked up a video on how to carve a baked ham, and I’m afraid that I’ve made a mess of it, but I WILL tell you that, pretty or not, this ham is GOOOOD.  So good, that I might, might have eaten a bunch of it while I was carving it up.  (Which happens a lot, actually.  If I carve up one of those rotisserie chickens from the grocery store, I’ll inevitably end up eating a breast/wing or a thigh/leg piece before it makes it into the fridge.  The thing about that, though, is that I cut it all up and I’m all proud of myself, and now it’s sitting in there mocking me, because I didn’t make any sides to go with it; I didn’t fix any scalloped potatoes, I didn’t make any green beans, or black eyed peas, or really ANYTHING to go with this ham.  But OH IS THAT SOME GOOD HAM!!!   And really?  I’m not even that sorry.  I just wanted some ham.

* Unless you count those boneless turkey roast things – I’ve baked those

* Unless you count crock-pot roast – I make a MEAN crock pot Pot Roast.  Just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

