Knot Watt Ewe Think

Knitting, Spinning, Movies, the InterWebs, and whatever else I turn my mind to…. but mostly knitting.

  • Flickr Photos

    20140628_161609

    20140628_161617

    20140521_213229

    20140429_222831

    Made my bouquet!

    More Photos
  • Recent Posts

  • Blog Stats

    • 16,780 hits
  • It’s all been said before: Archives

  • Subscribe

Holy Clap!

Posted by Miss Knotty on March 14, 2009

I knitted a Clapotis.  It’s true.  I drank the Kool-Aid, and I joined the other 10,383 Ravelry Users who have knit this pattern and I knitted it.  Well, to add to the fun, I also FINISHED IT!! On Friday the 13th.  I know.  Is it cursed now?

Pinned down Clapotis the second

Other facts about my Clappy:

I knit this largely while on Jury Duty (I was on Jury Duty for 7 days (I got picked for a Jury).  (Don’t worry, I only knit it during down time, while waiting in the jury room.  It never went into the courtroom with me).  Once that ended, I had a hard time looking at Clappy for a while, because the evidence given in that case kind of ‘imprinted’ on Clappy, and I was reminded of a lot of the imagery and testimony when I looked at Clappy’s pretty purpleness and felt the soft, silky fabric.  So I set it down for a while and then started thinking about some of the cool people I met while on Jury Duty.   There were lots of IT guys, an insurance guy, an architect, a librarian, and others.  I think I was the youngest one on the jury, but I’m not totally sure of that.  Then I started to feel better about finishing it and thinking about how great the yarn is and the negativity kind of wore off.  I’m looking forward to wrapping Clapotis around me and enjoying the soft wool and silk and the beautiful dropped stitch ladders.

The long and not-so-winding clapotis

Stats: Clapotis, from Knitty, Fall 2004

Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Lion & Lamb, 3 balls and a little bit, color Purple Club, bought from Got Yarn.com in January 2009

Started January 10, ’09; finished March 13, ’09

Knit on a US 8 (5.0 mm)  needle

Gauge unknown

Finished measurement – over 60″ on long edge, but I didn’t measure exactly.  I just know it’s taller than me, and I’m 5’4, so that’s 64″.

Pinned down Clapotis

One Response to “Holy Clap!”

  1. Chris said

    Gorgeous! Love the way the color pooled. Looks like zigzags!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

